1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Georgia

Maps of Georgia

Physical Map of Georgia. It shows the physical features of Georgia including its mountain ranges, rivers, and lakes.

Georgia is located in the southeastern region of the United States and covers an area of 59,425 sq mi. It shares borders with Tennessee to the north, North Carolina and South Carolina to the northeast and east, Florida to the south, and Alabama to the west.

The northern part of Georgia possesses by the southern edges of the Appalachian Mountains and has its highest point, Brasstown Bald, at an elevation of 4,784 ft. Moving southward out of this mountain range reveals rolling red-clay hills forming part of the Piedmont Plateau, a surprisingly flat region, before reaching sea level 0 ft along its Atlantic Ocean coastline. Stone Mountain is the largest exposed block of granite in the world, and it sits just east of Atlanta, with an elevation of 1,686 ft above sea level.

Numerous rivers weave throughout Georgia, including the Chattahoochee River, the longest in the state. Other important rivers include Alapaha, Flint, Oconee, Ocmulgee, and Savannah. In addition, artificial lakes and reservoirs sit throughout the state primarily for irrigation or hydroelectric power production. Some notable bodies include Lake Lanier near the Gainesville metropolitan area, Lake Blue Ridge near Ellijay city, Nottely Reservoir near Blairsville, and Lake Allatoona near Cartersville.

Several islands are alongside Georgia’s coast; some key islands include Sapelo Island, Jekyll Island, St Simons Island, and Cumberland Island. These islands are known for hosting popular stretches of beaches, nature reserves, and wildlife refuges.

Towards the south at the Florida-Georgia border is the Okefenokee Swamp region. This unique wetland ecosystem consists of a mix of open waters, grasslands, and cypress trees.

Counties Map

The State of Georgia is divided into 159 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Appling, Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Baldwin, Banks, Barrow, Bartow, Ben Hill, Berrien, Bibb, Bleckley, Brantley, Brooks, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Butts, Calhoun, Camden, Candler, Carroll, Catoosa, Charlton, Chatham, Chattahoochee, Chattooga, Cherokee, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinch, Cobb, Coffee, Colquitt, Columbia, Cook, Coweta, Crawford, Crisp, Dade, Dawson, Decatur, DeKalb, Dodge, Dooly, Dougherty, Douglas, Early, Echols, Effingham, Elbert, Emanuel, Evans, Fannin, Fayette, Floyd, Forsyth, Franklin, Fulton, Gilmer, Glascock, Glynn, Gordon, Grady, Greene, Gwinnett, Habersham, Hall, Hancock, Haralson, Harris, Hart, Heard, Henry, Houston, Irwin, Jackson, Jasper, Jeff Davis, Jefferson, Jenkins, Johnson, Jones, Lamar, Lanier, Laurens, Lee, Liberty, Lincoln, Long, Lowndes, Lumpkin, Macon, Madison, Marion, McDuffie, McIntosh, Meriwether, Miller, Mitchell, Monroe, Montgomery, Morgan, Murray, Muscogee, Newton, Oconee, Oglethorpe, Paulding, Peach, Pickens, Pierce, Pike, Polk, Pulaski, Putnam, Quitman, Rabun, Randolph, Richmond, Rockdale, Schley, Screven, Seminole, Spalding, Stephens, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taliaferro, Tattnall, Taylor, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Toombs, Towns, Treutlen, Troup, Turner, Twiggs, Union, Upson, Walker, Walton, Ware, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Wheeler, White, Whitfield, Wilcox, Wilkes, Wilkinson, and Worth.

With an area of 153,909 sq. km, the State of Georgia is the 24th largest and the 8th most populous state in the USA. Located in Fulton County (also partly in DeKalb County), at the foothills of the Appalachian Mountains, in the northwestern part of the state is Atlanta – the capital, the largest, and the most populous city of Georgia. Atlanta is the commercial, financial, technology, and education center of Georgia. It also serves as the major trade and transportation center of the southeastern United States.

Where is Georgia?

Map showing location of Georgia in the world.

The State of Georgia is located in the south-eastern region of the United States. Georgia is bordered by the states of Tennessee and North Carolina in the north; by Alabama and Florida in the southwest; and by South Carolina in the east. It is also bordered by the Atlantic Ocean in the southeast.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Georgia

The above blank map represents the State of Georgia, located in the southeastern region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents the State of Georgia, located in the southeastern region of the United States. 

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Georgia
ISO 3166 Code US-GA
Capital City Atlanta
Major Cities
  1. Atlanta (5,803,065)
  2. Augusta-Richmond County (443,502)
  3. Savannah (323,937)

This page was last updated on January 10, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas