1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Louisiana

Maps of Louisiana

Physical Map of Louisiana. It shows the physical features of Louisiana including its mountain ranges, major rivers and lakes.

Louisiana is a state located in the southeastern region of the United States. The states of Arkansas, Mississippi, and Texas border it. Louisiana is the 31st largest state in land area, with 52,377 sq. mi, and the 25th most populous state, with over 4.6 million residents.

Louisiana is home to many rivers, including the Mississippi River, the Atchafalaya River, the Ouachita River, the Pearl River, the Red River, and the Sabine River. In addition, Louisiana has several lakes, including Lake Charles, Grand Lake Pontchartrain, Sabine Lake, Toledo Bend Reservoir, and White Lake. These rivers and lakes are important to Louisiana because they provide drinking water for residents, support wildlife populations, and many people use them for recreation.

The highest point in Louisiana is Driskill Mountain at 535 ft, while the lowest point is -9 Below Sea Level. The state has a diverse topography with various landforms such as mountains, valleys, and other features. From central Louisiana to the southeastern Arkansas Border, one can find the Red River basin, an incredibly fertile piece of land that is crucial to Louisiana's agriculture. 

Weather conditions are essential in determining what plant and animal species can survive in an area. The average temperatures fluctuate throughout the year with no extremes during summer and winter months. Winds from the south or southwest occasionally usher in tropical systems and storms from the Gulf Coast Region. Humidity levels and precipitation amounts vary by season.

Louisiana is home to many types of wildlife, including birds, mammals, amphibians, and fish that inhabit aquatic marshlands. In addition, many different plant species are also present in swamps, marshes, or along riversides, such as cypress trees and palmetto, palms, and cattails. These plant and animal species are important to Louisiana because they contribute to its unique ecosystem.

Counties Map

The State of Louisiana is divided into 64 parishes. In alphabetical order, these parishes are: Acadia, Allen, Ascension, Assumption, Avoyelles, Beauregard, Bienville, Bossier, Caddo, Calcasieu, Caldwell, Cameron, Catahoula, Claiborne, Concordia, De Soto, East Baton Rouge, East Carroll, East Feliciana, Evangeline, Franklin, Grant, Iberia, Iberville, Jackson, Jefferson, Jefferson Davis, La Salle, Lafayette, Lafourche, Lincoln, Livingston, Madison, Morehouse, Natchitoches, Orleans, Ouachita, Plaquemines, Pointe Coupee, Rapides, Red River, Richland, Sabine, Saint Bernard, Saint Charles, Saint Helena, Saint James, Saint Landry, Saint Martin, Saint Mary, Saint Tammany, St John the Baptist, Tangipahoa, Tensas, Terrebonne, Union, Vermilion, Vernon, Washington, Webster, West Baton Rouge, West Carroll, West Feliciana, Winn.

With an area of 135,658 sq. km, the State of Louisiana is the 19th smallest and the 25th most populous state in the USA. Located in the East Baton Rouge Parish, along the eastern shores of the Mississippi River is Baton Rouge – the capital and the second-largest city in Louisiana. It also serves as a political hub and an industrial center of the state. Situated in southeastern Louisiana, along the Mississippi River is New Orleans – the largest and the most populous city in Louisiana. It also serves as a major port, cultural, commercial, and economic hub of the state as well as the Gulf Coast region of the United States.

Where is Louisiana?

Map showing location of Louisiana in the world.

The State of Louisiana is located in the Gulf Coast (Deep South) region of the South-Central United States. Louisiana shares its borders with the State of Texas in the west, with Arkansas in the north, and with Mississippi in the east. It is bounded by the Gulf of Mexico in the south.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Louisiana

The above blank map represents the State of Louisiana, located in the Gulf Coast (Deep South) region of the South-Central United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geographic education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of Louisiana, located in the Gulf Coast (Deep South) region of the South-Central United States. 

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Louisiana
ISO 3166 Code US-LA
Capital City Baton Rouge
Major Cities
  1. New Orleans (1,013,034)
  2. Baton Rouge (766,677)
  3. Lafayette (383,368)
  4. Shreveport (327,012)

This page was last updated on January 17, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas