1. World Map/
  2. North America/
  3. USA /
  4. New Mexico /
  5. New Mexico Fast Facts

New Mexico

New Mexico Facts

  • US dollar
    all u.s. currency (banknotes)
  • New Mexico Quarter The second commemorative quarter coin released in 2008 honors New Mexico, and is the 47th coin in the United States Mint's 50 State Quarters® Program.

    New Mexico, the "Land of Enchantment" was admitted into the Union on January 6, 1912, becoming our Nation's 47th State. New Mexico's quarter features a Zia sun symbol over a topographical outine of the State. The coin's inscriptions read "Land of Enchantment", "New Mexico" and "1912".

    The Native American cultures have had a strong influence and are found throughout New Mexico. The Zia Pueblo believe the sun symbol represents the giver of all good. From the circle, life and love without beginning or end are represented. The four groups of four rays represent the four directions, the four seasons, the four phases of the day (sunrise, noon, evening, night) and the four divisions of life (childhood, youth, middle years, old age). Additional details

    New Mexico Quarter
  • Albuquerque facts
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: English, others
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Albuquerque, Las Cruces, Santa Fe, Rio Rancho, Roswell, Farmington
  • Name: The Spanish translation reportedly means "Place of Mexitli" - one of the Aztec Indian gods.
  • Santa Fe facts
  • Statehood: January 6, 1912 (47th state)
  • Symbols

New Mexico Photographs

Statue of Kateri Tekakwitha, the Cathedral Basilica of St. Francis of Assisi, Santa Fe, New Mexico,

Statue of Kateri Tekakwitha in Santa Fe...
by Richard Maschmeyer
Buy This at Allposters.com

New Mexico Cities, Counties & Area Codes

City County Area Code
Albuquerque Bernalillo 505
Reserve Catron 575
Roswell Chaves 575
Grants Cibola 505
Raton Colfax 575
Clovis Curry 575
Fort Sumner De Baca 575
Las Cruces Dona Ana 575
Carlsbad Eddy 575
Silver City Grant 575
Santa Rosa Guadalupe 575
Roy Harding 575
Lordsburg Hidalgo 575
Hobbs Lea 575
Ruidoso Lincoln 575
Los Alamos Los Alamos 505
Deming Luna 575
Gallup McKinley 505
Mora Mora 575
Alamogordo Otero 575
Tucumcari Quay 575
Espanola Rio Arriba 505
Portales Roosevelt 575
Farmington San Juan 505
Las Vegas San Miguel 505
Rio Rancho Sandoval 505
Santa Fe Santa Fe 505
Truth or Consequences Sierra 575
Socorro Socorro 575
Taos Taos 575
Moriarty Torrance 505
Clayton Union 575
Los Lunas Valencia 505

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

USA States

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.