1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Oklahoma

Maps of Oklahoma

Physical Map of Oklahoma. It shows the physical features of Oklahoma including mountain ranges, major rivers and lakes.

Oklahoma is a state located in the south-central region of the United States. It borders Arkansas, Kansas, Missouri, New Mexico, Texas, and Colorado. With an area of 69,899 square miles, it is the 20th largest state in terms of land area. As of 2023, it had an estimated population of 4 million people.

The topography of Oklahoma varies significantly across the state. The western portion features flat to rolling plains, while the eastern part has rugged hills and low mountain ranges. The highest point in the state is Black Mesa at 4,973 feet. The Ozark Plateau lies primarily within Oklahoma's northeastern quarter, while the Ouachita Mountains are located in the southeastern corner. 

Oklahoma is home to numerous rivers and lakes, including Lake Texoma on the Red River; Broken Bow Lake on the Mountain Fork River; Fort Gibson Lake on the Neosho River; Tenkiller Ferry Lake on the Illinois River; Altus-Lugert Lake on North Fork Red River; Eufaula Lake on Canadian River; Keystone Reservoir on Arkansas River; Oologah Lake on Verdigris River; and Sardis Reservoir on Kiamichi River. Several significant reservoirs are also located throughout the state, including Waurika Reservoir near Lawton and Kaw Lake near Ponca City. 

Oklahoma has a temperate climate with hot summers and cold winters. Average temperatures range from 50°F (10°C) in January to 85°F (29°C) in July, with wide variations across regions due to altitude differences. Rainfall totals also differ between regions, with some areas receiving more than 56 inches (127 cm) per year while others only receive around 17 inches (76 cm). Tornadoes are common during springtime but can also occur anytime during summer or early fall. Severe storms such as hail or high winds can also occur throughout any season, but they are most frequent during springtime, when thunderstorms form more often. 

Counties Map

The State of Oklahoma is divided into 77 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Adair, Alfalfa, Atoka, Beaver, Beckham, Blaine, Bryan, Caddo, Canadian, Carter, Cherokee, Choctaw, Cimarron, Cleveland, Coal, Comanche, Cotton, Craig, Creek, Custer, Delaware, Dewey, Ellis, Garfield, Garvin, Grady, Grant, Greer, Harmon, Harper, Haskell, Hughes, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnston, Kay, Kingfisher, Kiowa, Latimer, Leflore, Lincoln, Logan, Love, Major, Marshall, Mayes, McClain, McCurtain, McIntosh, Murray, Muskogee, Noble, Nowata, Okfuskee, Oklahoma County, Okmulgee, Osage, Ottawa, Pawnee, Payne, Pittsburg, Pontotoc, Pottawatomie, Pushmataha, Roger Mills, Rogers, Seminole, Sequoyah, Stephens, Texas, Tillman, Tulsa, Wagoner, Washington, Washita, Woods, Woodward.

With an area of 11,040 sq. km, the State of Oklahoma is the 20th largest and the 28th most populous state in the USA. Located near the state’s center, along the North Canadian River is Oklahoma City – the capital and the largest city in Oklahoma. It hosts one of the largest livestock markets in the world.

Where is Oklahoma?

Map showing location of Oklahoma in the world.

The State of Oklahoma is located in the South-central region of the United States. Oklahoma is bordered by the state of New Mexico in the west; by Colorado in the northwest; by Texas in the west and south; by Kansas in the north; by Arkansas in the east and by Missouri in the northeast.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Oklahoma

The above blank map represents the State of Oklahoma, located in the South-central region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of Oklahoma, located in the South-central region of the United States.

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Oklahoma
ISO 3166 Code US-OK
Capital City Oklahoma City
Major Cities
  1. Oklahoma City (1,017,674)
  2. Tulsa (791,103)

This page was last updated on January 25, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas