The Himalayan States Of Asia

The Indian town of Rinchenpong, Sikkim, is seen here in the Himalayans.

The Himalayan states are home to the extensive Himalayan mountain chain. The region is comprised of the Eastern and Western Himalaya. The sovereign states of Bhutan and Nepal lie almost entirely within the mountain chain. The mountain chain also includes northern Pakistan, the Indian Himalayan states in the North as well as in Northeast India, and China's autonomous region of South Tibet.


Nepal is recognized as the largest sovereign Himalayan State. Nepal neighbors India and China, and it is landlocked. The state has eight of the tallest mountains in the world. Rising to 29,029 feet, Mt. Everest known as Sagarmāthā in Nepal is the world's highest peak. The mountain lies in Nepal's Solukhumbu District in the Sagarmatha Zone, and it is part of the Himalayas. Other tall mountains in Nepal are Kanchenjunga (28,169 ft), Makalu (27,838 ft), Dhaulagiri I (26,795 ft), and Annapurna I (26,545 ft). Nepal is also home to numerous Himalayan Rivers such as Kosi, Karnali, and Gandaki. The mountain region characterizes the northern area of Nepal.


Bhutan is the smallest country lying completely within the Himalayan mountain chain. It is situated in the Eastern Himalayas, and it shares borders with India to the south and China to the north. The Himalayan peaks characterize Bhutan's northern region where some mountains reach more than 23,000 feet. The Gangkhar Puensum peaks at 24,836 feet to be Bhutan's highest mountain. Bhutan prides in a rich biodiversity featuring rivers, valleys, forests, savanna, and woodlands. Animals such as the golden langur, serow, Bengal tiger, sloth bear, hispid hare, and clouded leopard are among Bhutan's fauna.


The Indian Himalayan Region (IHR) is the section of the Himalayas that straddle the Indian states of Sikkim, Himachal Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, and Uttarakhand in addition to the hill regions of West Bengal and Assam. 86% of the region of Uttarakhand is mountainous, and the northern region is home to glaciers and high peaks. Two of the important rivers in the Hindu religion, which are considered holy, the Yamuna and the Ganges rivers flow from the Himalayas and it is a pilgrimage destination for the faithful. The Himalayan mountains occupy most of the southern portion of the Jammu and Kashmir state. The Nun Kun Mountain elevates to 23,409 ft to be the state's tallest peak. The state of Sikkim is included in the Eastern Himalayas, and it has a mountainous terrain. Sikkim is home to the majestic Kangchenjunga which is shared with Nepal. The state boasts 28 mountain peaks and over 80 glaciers. Himachal Pradesh lies in the western Himalayas where most of its territory is situated in the foothills of the Dhauladhar Range.


The Himalayas serve as China’s southwestern borders with Bhutan, Nepal, and India. The Tibetan Plateau, also called the Himalayan Plateau, makes up nearly all of the territory of the Tibet Autonomous Region. The plateau is surrounded by such ranges as the inner Himalayan Range.


The Pakistani Himalaya lies east and south of the Indus River. The river makes an entry into Pakistan from India following a north-western course to Skardu. The Pakistani Himalaya is characterized by grassy meadows and pine forests sustained by the precipitation of the monsoon months. The Himalayas straddles three provinces in the nation which are primarily populated by Muslims.


More in World Facts