1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. New York

Maps of New York

Physical Map of New York. It shows the physical features of New York including its mountain ranges, rivers and major lakes.

Covering an area of 141,300 sq. km, the State of New York is located in the northeastern United States.

As observed on the map, the state of New York has a diverse geography. The southeastern part of the state is dominated by major parts of the Appalachian Mountain system, which also extend into the states of Vermont, New Hampshire, and southern Canada.

Much of southwestern New York is covered by the lower ranges of the Allegheny Plateau, while the Adirondack and Catskill mountains cover the eastern third of the state. The massive and most rugged Adirondack Mountains, in the northeastern part of the state, are New York's major landform. In this heavily forested mountainous region lies the state’s highest point – Mount Marcy. Located in the west-central Essex county, Mount Marcy rises to an elevation of 5,344ft (1,629m).

The state has almost 300 miles of combined frontage along the Great Lakes of Erie and Ontario. New York also has many significant lakes including the Finger Lakes chain, Lake George and Oneida Lake. Lake Champlain forms the state’s natural border with Vermont.

The most significant in-state rivers include the Hudson, Genesee, Mohawk, and Black River. The Delaware River forms part of its southern border with Pennsylvania; while the Saint Lawrence River (seaway) forms part of the state’s northern border with Canada.

The man-made Erie Canal links the waters of Lake Erie in the west to the Hudson River in the east. An engineering marvel when it was built, some then called it the 'Eighth Wonder of the World.'

The Niagara Falls is a series of waterfalls located on the border between the United States and Canada. The system includes three separate waterfalls: The Horseshoe Falls (or Canadian Falls), the American Falls, and the smaller, adjacent Bridal Veil Falls.

The Atlantic Coastal Plains in the southern part of the state includes many smaller associated islands as well as the Long Island, Manhattan Island, Staten Island, the New York City, and the Hudson River Valley. The state’s lowest point is at the Atlantic Ocean (0ft).

Counties Map

The State of New York is divided into 62 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Albany, Allegany, Bronx, Broome, Cattaraugus, Cayuga, Chautauqua, Chemung, Chenango, Clinton, Columbia, Cortland, Delaware, Dutchess, Erie, Essex, Franklin, Fulton, Genesee, Greene, Hamilton, Herkimer, Jefferson, Kings, Lewis, Livingston, Madison, Monroe, Montgomery, Nassau, New York County, Niagara, Oneida, Onondaga, Ontario, Orange, Orleans, Oswego, Otsego, Putnam, Queens, Rensselaer, Richmond, Rockland, Saint Lawrence, Saratoga, Schenectady, Schoharie, Schuyler, Seneca, Steuben, Suffolk, Sullivan, Tioga, Tompkins, Ulster, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Westchester, Wyoming, Yates.

With an area of 141,300 sq. km, New York is the 27th largest and the 4th most populous state in the USA. Located on the Hudson River, about 230km north of New York City is Albany – the capital city of New York. It serves as the administrative, cultural, industrial, transport, and economic center of the state. Situated on the edges of a natural harbor in the southeastern part of the state, New York City is the largest city in the New York state and the largest and the most populous city in the United States. It serves as a center for media, finance, research, culture, education, politics, sports, and tourism. It also hosts the headquarters of the United Nations and is one of the most populous megacities of the world.

Where is New York?

Map showing location of New York in the world.

The State of New York is located in the northeastern United States. New York is bordered by New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and the Delaware River in the south; by the states of Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Vermont in the east; by the Canadian province of Quebec in the north and by Ontario, St. Lawrence River, and Lake Ontario in the northwest. It is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean in the southeast. New York also shares a maritime border with Rhode Island, in the east of Long Island.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of New York

The above blank map represents the State of New York, located in the northeastern United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of New York, located in the northeastern United States. New York has been nicknamed as the "Empire State" and is the only U.S. state that include both parts of the Great Lakes and the Atlantic Ocean, within its borders.

Key Facts

Legal Name State of New York
ISO 3166 Code US-NY
Capital City Albany
Major Cities
  1. New York-Newark (18,803,552)
  2. Buffalo (890,641)
  3. Rochester (743,189)
  4. Albany (629,609)
  5. Poughkeepsie-Newburgh (507,368)
  6. Syracuse (419,994)

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas