1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Canada
  4. Quebec

Maps of Quebec

Physical Map of Quebec. It shows the physical features of Quebec, including mountain ranges, significant rivers, and major lakes.  hudson bay lake huron st. lawrence atlantic ocean large quebec map nunavut labrador and newfoundland prince edward island nova scotia new brunswick maine quebec canadian shield graphic maps ontario james bay

Covering an area of 1,542,056 sq. km, the Province of Quebec is located in the eastern part of Canada. Quebec comprises 3 main physiographic regions. These are the Canadian Shield, the St. Lawrence Lowlands, and the Appalachians.

The Canadian Shield occupies most of the central and northern parts of the province. This comparatively flat landscape is composed of plains, plateaus, and few higher points including the Laurentian Mountains, Otish Mountains, and the Torngat Mountains. The entire area is crisscrossed by numerous lakes and rivers.

In the far-northern part of the province, the Torngat Mountains dominate the landscape along the province’s border with Newfoundland and Labrador. The treeless Torngat Mountains are highly indented by many fjords and lakes. Located to the northeast of the Torngat Mountains is Mount d’Iberville (Mount Caubvick), which rises to an elevation of 1,652m and is the highest point in Quebec.  The large Labrador Peninsula is entirely covered by the Canadian Shield. The northwestern part of the Labrador Peninsula is referred to as the Ungava Peninsula which is covered by tundra and permanently frozen subsoil.

Located on the southern part of Quebec are the Laurentian Mountains. Situated in the Laurentides Wildlife Reserve, to the northeast of Quebec City is, Mont Raoul Blanchard, which rises to an elevation of 1,166m and is the highest point in the Laurentian Mountains.

Situated along the province’s southeastern border are the ancient Appalachian Mountains. Quebec’s Gaspe Peninsula extends into the Gulf of St. Lawrence and contains the Chic-Choc Mountains, which are a rugged extension of the Appalachians.

Some of the significant rivers of the province include Saint Lawrence River, Ashuapmushuan, Gatineau, Ottawa, Rupert, Saguenay, Saint Maurice, etc. The Saint Lawrence Seaway forms a connection between the Great Lakes and the Atlantic Ocean.

The Saint Lawrence Lowlands stretches along both sides of the massive Saint Lawrence River. This low-lying landscape includes the Anticosti Island, the Mingan Archipelago, and other smaller islands that are located within the Gulf of Saint Lawrence ecoregion.

The Caniapiscau Reservoir is the largest inland water body that was created by the James Bay Project for hydroelectric power generation. Lake Mistassini forms the largest natural lake within the Canadian Province of Quebec. The Hudson Bay is the lowest point of the province.

Provinces Map

The Canadian Province of Quebec is administratively divided into regional, supralocal and local levels. The province also contains some administrative units that are exclusively reserved for the Aboriginal lands. The Province of Quebec is primarily subdivided into a total of 17 Administrative Regions at the regional level. At the supralocal level, the province is subdivided into 86 Regional County Municipalities and 2 Metropolitan Communities. At the local level, the province comprises a total of 1,117 local municipalities, 11 agglomerations (which includes about 42 local municipalities), and 45 boroughs (that are located within 8 local municipalities).

With an area of 1,542,056 sq. km, Quebec is the largest and the 2nd most populous Canadian Province. Located at the meeting point of St. Lawrence and Saint Charles Rivers, is Quebec City – which serves as the capital and the 2nd largest city of Quebec. It serves as a major port and the provincial administrative center. Situated at the center of Montreal Island in the southwestern part of the province is Montreal – the largest and the most populous city in Quebec.

Where is Quebec?

Map showing location of Quebec in the world. worldatlas.com arctic ocean atlantic ocean pacific ocean gulf of mexico caribbean sea caribbean central america united states north america great lakes greenland arctic circle mexico Alaska beaufort sea canada yukon british columbia alberta saskatchewan manitoba ontario quebec new brunswick nova scotia prince edward island newfoundland and labrador nunavut northwest territories hudson bay

The Province of Quebec is located in the eastern part of Canada, in the Continent of North America. It is geographically positioned in the Northern and Western Hemispheres of the Earth. Quebec is bordered by the Canadian Province of Newfoundland and Labrador in the east; by New Brunswick, the Gulf of St. Lawrence, and the US State of Maine in the southeast; by the US States of New Hampshire, New York, and Vermont in the south; by the Canadian province of Ontario as well as the Hudson Bay and James Bay in the west. It is also bounded by the Hudson Strait and the Ungava Bay in the north.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Quebec

The above blank map represents the Province of Quebec, located in the eastern part of Canada. The above map can be downloaded, printed, and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents the Province of Quebec, located in the eastern part of Canada.

Key Facts

Legal Name Province of Quebec
ISO 3166 Code US-pqz
Capital City Quebec

This page was last updated on May 11, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas