1. Home
  2. South America
  3. Ecuador

Maps of Ecuador

Physical Map of Ecuador showing relief, rivers, mountains ranges, important cities, bordering countries, and more.

Covering an area of 283,561 sq.km (109,484 sq mi), Ecuador is a country located in northwestern South America.

Ecuador is divided into four geographic regions: the coastal lowlands and mountain area; the Central Andes Mountains and its two major chains (Cordillera Occidental in the West) and the (Cordillera Oriental in the east); the lower mountains that fade into rolling hills and lowlands of the east, and the territory of the Galapagos Islands - officially called the Archipielago de Colon - located about 1,000km to the west.

The Andes includes over 20 peaks atleast 13,779 ft (4,200m) in height with most located in the Cordillera Occidental. The highest point in Ecuador is Mount Chimborazo, at 20,560ft (6,268m); while the lowest point is at the Pacific Ocean. In addition, there are over 30 peaks that are volcanic in nature, including many active ones. Located in the Andes Mountains, Cotopaxi is one of the world's highest active volcanoes. Most rivers in Ecuador rise in the upper elevations of the Andes, flowing east toward the Amazon River, or west into the Pacific Ocean. The most significant include the Babahoyo, Chira, Coca, Curaray, Daule, Esmeraldas, Guayas, Napo, Paztaza and the Putumayo, on its northeastern border with Colombia.

Provinces of Ecuador Map

Ecuador (officially, the Republic of Ecuador) is divided into 24 administrative provinces(provincias, singular - provincia). In alphabetical order, these provinces are: Azuay, Bolivar, Canar, Carchi, Chimborazo, Cotopaxi, El Oro, Esmeraldas, Galapagos, Guayas, Imbabura, Loja, Los Rios, Manabi, Morona-Santiago, Napo, Orellana, Pastaza, Pichincha, Santa Elena, Santo Domingo de los Tsachilas, Sucumbios, Tungurahua and Zamora-Chinchipe. The provinces are subdivided into a total of 221 cantons. These cantons are further subdivided into parishes (parroquias). 

Ecuador occupies a total area of 283,561 sq.km, which also includes the Galapagos Islands. Located in the north-central part of the country in the Andean highlands is, Quito - the national capital and the second most populous city of Ecuador. Situated at an elevation of 9,350ft, it is the world's second highest capital city and the oldest among all the South American capitals. It is the administrative and cultural center of Ecuador. Guayaquil is the largest and the most populous city in Ecuador. It is also a major commercial hub and a port city, where most of the economic trade is conducted through the Gulf of Guayaquil. 

Where is Ecuador?

Map showing location of Ecuador in the world.

Ecuador is a country located on the northwestern edge of South America. It sits directly on the Equator and is subsequently positioned in the northern, southern and western hemispheres of the Earth. Ecuador is bordered by Colombia to the north, by Peru to the south and east, and by the Pacific Ocean to the west. It shares maritime borders with Costa Rica. 

Ecuador Bordering Countries: Peru, Colombia.

Regional Maps: Map of South America

Outline Map of Ecuador

The above blank map represents Ecuador - a country in northwestern South America. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents Ecuador - a country in northwestern South America. It is considered to be one of the world's most environmentally diverse nations.

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Ecuador
Flag of Ecuador
Capital City Quito
0 13 S, 78 30 W
Total Area 283,561.00 km2
Land Area 276,841.00 km2
Water Area 6,720.00 km2
Population 17,373,662
Major Cities
  1. Guayaquil (3,142,466)
  2. Quito (1,956,995)
  3. Cuenca (444,646)
  4. Santo Domingo (380,484)
Currency <p>the US dollar became Ecuador's currency in 2001</p>
GDP $107.44 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,183.82

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas