1. World Map/
  2. Oceania/
  3. Australia/
  4. Australian Capital Territory /
  5. Australian Capital Territory Geography

Australian Capital Territory

Australian Capital Territory Geography

The Australian Capital Territory is enclaved within New South Wales, and is the smallest self-governing internal territory in Australia.

The mountainous and forested Namadgi National Park covers approximately 46% of the territory, and protects part of the northern end of the Australian Alps (Snowy Mountains).

The highest point of the Capital Territory is Bimberi Peak, located within Namadgi National Park, rising to 6,273 ft (1,912 m); the lowest point is along the Murrumbidgee River at 1,407 ft (429 m).

Major rivers include the Cotter, Naas and Murrumbidgee. Lake Burley Griffin, the largest lake, is a man-made body of water.

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

States & Territories of Australia

This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.