1. World Map/
  2. North America/
  3. Canada/
  4. Northwest Territories /
  5. Northwest Territories Fast Facts

Northwest Territories

Northwest Territories Facts

  • Capital City: Yellowknife (18,700 pop.) (2006 CMA) (CMA population includes city and metro suburb areas)
  • Northwest Territory Population: 41,462 (2011 est.)
  • Northwest Territory Population: (per square mile)
  • Province Populations: (all provinces / territories)
  • Currency: Canadian Dollar (conversion rates)

    canadian fifty dollar bill
    Fifty Canadian Dollars
  • Yellowknife Facts
  • Ethnicity: First Nations (36%), English (16%), Scottish (14%), Irish (12%), Inuit (11%), others
  • GDP total: $4.103 billion (Canadian dollars) (11th)
  • GDP per capita: GDP per capita $76,000 (Canadian dollars) (1st)
  • Land Sizes
  • Language: Chipewyan, Cree, English, French, Gwich'in, Inuinnaqtun, Inuktitut, Inuvialuktun, North Slavey, South Slavey, Tlich YatiƬ
  • Largest Cities: (by population) Yellowknife, Inuvik, Fort McPherson, Norman Wells, Tuktoyaktuk
  • Name: The name was originally used to describe lands in the west and north of what is now modern-day Canada. Even though parts of those lands were merged into other provinces, the original name remains.
  • Territory Date: July 15, 1870
  • Dominion dates (all provinces and teritories)

    Note: The Canadian Confederation, or the birth of Canada as a recognized nation, took place on July 1, 1867, and originally included the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Ontario and Quebec.
  • Religion: Catholic (46%), Anglican Church of Canada (15%), United Church of Canada (6%), others
  • Symbols

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Provinces & Territories Of Canada