1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Canada
  4. Nunavut

Maps of Nunavut

Physical Map of Nunavut. It shows the physical features of Nunavut, including mountain ranges, important rivers, major lakes, and islands. northwest territories saskatchewan alberta manitoba quebec greenland nunavut arctic ocean beaufort sea hudson bay nunavut canadian shield arctic circle graphic maps

Covering a total area of 2,038,722 sq. km, Nunavut is the largest and the northernmost Canadian territory that occupies a major portion of the Canadian Arctic Archipelago.

As observed on the map, a major part of Nunavut Territory is composed of several islands such as the Baffin Island, Devon Island, Ellesmere Island, and Victoria Island. The Queen Elizabeth archipelago comprises 30 large islands and more than 2,000 small islands. The Sverdrup Islands and the Parry Islands also form a part of the Queen Elizabeth archipelago.

Baffin Island is the world’s 5th largest island and Canada’s largest island. Vast areas of the island are covered by snow and ice throughout the year. The northern coastline of Baffin Island is highly indented and the land slopes in the southern and western parts to form plateaus and lowlands. Several freshwater lakes and rivers are found on Baffin Island.

Situated on the Ellesmere Island in the Quttinirpaaq National Park is Barbeau Peak, which rises to an elevation of 2,616m and is the highest point in the Nunavut territory.

The Canadian Shield occupies a major part of the territory and is composed of an ancient granite base that is covered by a thin layer of poorly drained soil. This flat landscape is covered by numerous lakes and rivers. The Hudson Bay marks the lowest point of the Nunavut territory.

Provinces Map

Nunavut is a Canadian territory that is administratively divided into 3 regions. In alphabetical order, these regions are Kitikmeot Region, Kivalliq Region, and Qikiqtaaluk (Baffin) Region. In 2003, the Government of Nunavut created a total of 25 municipalities (24 hamlets and 1 city).

With a total area of 2,038,722 sq. km, Nunavut is the largest and the northernmost Canadian territory. Located at the mouth of the Frobisher Bay, on the southeastern part of the Baffin Island is Iqaluit – the territorial capital, the largest community, and the only city of Nunavut.

Where is Nunavut?

Map showing location of Nunavut in the world. worldatlas.com arctic ocean atlantic ocean pacific ocean gulf of mexico caribbean sea caribbean central america united states north america great lakes greenland arctic circle mexico Alaska beaufort sea canada yukon british columbia alberta saskatchewan manitoba ontario quebec new brunswick nova scotia prince edward island newfoundland and labrador nunavut northwest territories hudson bay

Nunavut is a Canadian territory located in the northern part of Canada, in the Continent of North America. It is geographically positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. About half of Nunavut’s landmass is situated above the Arctic Circle. Nunavut is bordered by the Canadian province of Manitoba in the south and the Northwest Territories in the west and southwest. It is separated from Greenland in the east by the Baffin Bay and the Davis Strait. The northeastern part of the Hudson Bay and the Hudson Strait separate Nunavut from the Canadian Province of Quebec in the southeast. It is surrounded by the Arctic Ocean in the north.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Nunavut

The above blank map represents Nunavut, a Canadian territory located in the northern part of Canada. The above map can be downloaded, printed, and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents Nunavut, a Canadian territory located in the northern part of Canada.

Key Facts

Legal Name Province of Nunavut
ISO 3166 Code US-nuz
Capital City Iqaluit

This page was last updated on May 11, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas