1. Home
  2. North America
  3. Canada
  4. Saskatchewan

Maps of Saskatchewan

Physical Map of Saskatchewan. It shows the physical features of Saskatchewan, including mountain ranges, important rivers, and major lakes.  alberta manitoba nunavut norwest territories north dakota montana large saskatchewan map graphic maps saskatchewan canadian shield great plains

Covering an area of 588,244 sq. km, the Province of Saskatchewan is located in the central part of Canada.

As observed on the map, this landlocked province is roughly quadrilateral in shape, where the southern parts are covered by the grasslands of the Great Plains and the northern parts by the forested Canadian Shield.

The Canadian Shield is composed of an ancient granite base that is covered by a thin layer of poorly drained soil. This flat landscape is dominated by large areas of coniferous forests and crisscrossed by numerous rivers and lakes. The Lake Athabasca Sand Dunes form the world’s largest active sand dunes above 58° north and front the southern shores of Lake Athabasca. In addition to this, there are “Great Sand Hills” in the Chinook region of southern Saskatchewan, where they occupy an area of over 300 sq. km. Located in the far southwestern corner of the province along its boundary with the neighboring Alberta province is the Cypress Hills, which rises to an elevation of 1,392m and is the highest point in Saskatchewan.  

Some of the significant rivers of the province include the Churchill, Beaver, North and South Saskatchewan Rivers, etc. Some of the major lakes include Athabasca, Cree, Reindeer, etc. As marked on the map by an upside-down yellow triangle, the lowest point of the province is situated on the shore of Lake Athabasca at an elevation of 213m.

Provinces Map

The Canadian Province of Saskatchewan is administratively divided into a total of 774 municipalities. Of these 774 municipalities, there are 454 urban municipalities, 296 rural municipalities and 24 northern municipalities. The 454 urban municipalities are further subdivided into 16 cities, 250 villages, 147 towns and 41 resort villages. The 24 northern municipalities are further subdivided into 2 northern towns, 11 northern hamlets and 11 northern villages. The major portion of Northern Saskatchewan forms a part of the unorganized Northern Saskatchewan Administration District.

Saskatchewan is also dividted into 18 census divisions meant only for the use of statistical data collection and analysis. These divisions are not associated with any government.

With an area of 588,244 sq.km, Saskatchewan is the 5th largest and the 6th most populous Canadian province. Located in the south-central part of the province on the Wascana Creek is Regina, the provincial capital and the 2nd largest city of Saskatchewan. It serves as a cultural and commercial center for the southern part of Saskatchewan. Situated in the central part of the province along the South Saskatchewan River is Saskatoon – the largest and the most populous city of Saskatchewan. It serves as a regional cultural and economic hub.

Where is Saskatchewan?

Map showing location of Saskatchewan in the world. worldatlas.com arctic ocean atlantic ocean pacific ocean gulf of mexico caribbean sea caribbean central america united states north america great lakes greenland arctic circle mexico Alaska beaufort sea canada yukon british columbia alberta saskatchewan manitoba ontario quebec new brunswick nova scotia prince edward island newfoundland and labrador nunavut northwest territories hudson bay

The Province of Saskatchewan is located in the central part of Canada, in the Continent of North America. It is geographically positioned in the Northern and Western hemispheres of the Earth. Saskatchewan is a landlocked boreal and prairie Canadian province and the only one which lacks natural boundaries. It is bordered by the Canadian provinces of Alberta in the west; Manitoba in the east; Northwest Territories in the north; and Nunavut in the northeast. In the south it is surrounded by the US States of North Dakota and Montana.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Saskatchewan

The above blank map represents the Province of Saskatchewan, located in the central part of Canada. The above map can be downloaded, printed, and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents the Province of Saskatchewan, located in the central part of Canada.

Key Facts

Legal Name Province of Saskatchewan
ISO 3166 Code US-skz
Capital City Regina

This page was last updated on May 11, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas