1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Arkansas

Maps of Arkansas

Physical Map of Arkansas. It shows the physical features of Arkansas including its mountain ranges, rivers and lakes.

Arkansas, officially known as the Natural State, is nestled in the southern region of the United States. It shares its borders with six states: Missouri to the north, Tennessee and Mississippi to the east, Louisiana to the south, Texas to the southwest, and Oklahoma to the west. The state encompasses a population of 3 million and has a total area of 53,179 square miles, making it the 29th largest state in the country. The geography of Arkansas can be divided into six main regions: the Ozark Plateau, the Ouachita Mountains, the Arkansas River Valley, the West Gulf Coastal Plain, the Mississippi Alluvial Plain, and Crowley's Ridge.

The Ozark Plateau, or the Ozark Mountains, lies in the northern and western parts of the state, spilling into Missouri. It features a series of plateaus, valleys, and hills crafted through ages by the forces of erosion. Rivers such as the White River, the Buffalo River, and the Kings River have carved beautiful and dramatic landscapes into this region.

South of the Ozark Plateau lie the Ouachita Mountains. This region, which extends west into Oklahoma, exhibits a unique east-west trend, contrasting with the north-south alignment of most American mountain ranges. The range's highest point, Signal Hill, reaches an elevation of 2,753 feet, standing as the highest point in the state. The Ouachita River, originating in the Ouachita Mountains, has been instrumental in the development of this region's geography.

Between these two mountainous areas lies the Arkansas River Valley, a region characterized by fertile soils and a mild climate. The Arkansas River, after which the state is named, traverses this valley. As the most significant river in the state and one of the major tributaries of the Mississippi River, the Arkansas River serves both as a transportation route and a source of irrigation.

To the south of the Ouachita Mountains, the West Gulf Coastal Plain stretches towards the Louisiana border. This region, a part of the larger Gulf Coastal Plain, comprises a gently rolling to flat terrain with fertile, sandy soil. The Red River marks the region's southwestern boundary.

The Mississippi Alluvial Plain, also known as the Arkansas Delta, borders the eastern edge of Arkansas. The region is a flat, often swampy area made up of rich, fertile sediment deposited by the Mississippi River, which forms the eastern border of the state.

Lastly, Crowley's Ridge, a unique geological formation, dissects the Mississippi Alluvial Plain. This ridge, rising 150 to 200 feet above the surrounding plain, stretches north-south and provides slightly higher, well-drained land in the delta region.

Despite being landlocked, Arkansas hosts an array of water bodies that significantly contribute to its geographical character. Major lakes include Bull Shoals Lake, Lake Ouachita, and Beaver Lake, each contributing to the state's water supply, recreation, and biodiversity. Moreover, the state doesn't possess any coastal features or natural islands of significant size. Its islands are mostly found within its river systems and are generally small.

Counties Map

The State of Arkansas is divided into 75 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Arkansas County, Ashley, Baxter, Benton, Boone, Bradley, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Columbia, Conway, Craighead, Crawford, Crittenden, Cross, Dallas, Desha, Drew, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Grant, Greene, Hempstead, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Jackson, Jefferson, Johnson, Lafayette, Lawrence, Lee, Lincoln, Little River, Logan, Lonoke, Madison, Marion, Miller, Mississippi, Monroe, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Ouachita, Perry, Phillips, Pike, Poinsett, Polk, Pope, Prairie, Pulaski, Randolph, Saint Francis, Saline, Scott, Searcy, Sebastian, Sevier, Sharp, Stone, Union, Van Buren, Washington, White, Woodruff, and Yell.

With an area of 137,732 sq. km, the State of Arkansas is the 29th largest and the 33rd most populous state in the USA. Located in Pulaski County, in the central part of the state is Little Rock – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Arkansas. Little Rock also serves as the administrative, cultural, economic, and transportation center of Arkansas.

Where is Arkansas?

Map showing location of Arkansas in the world.

The State of Arkansas is located in the south-central region of the United States. It is bordered by the state of Missouri in the north; by Tennessee and Mississippi in the east, by Louisiana in the south, by Texas in the southwest and by Oklahoma in the west.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Arkansas

The above blank map represents the State of Arkansas, located in the south-central region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities.

The above outline map represents the State of Arkansas, located in the south-central region of the United States. 

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Arkansas
ISO 3166 Code US-AR
Capital City Little Rock
Major Cities
  1. Fayetteville-Springdale (560,363)
  2. Little Rock (533,074)

This page was last updated on June 28, 2023

Latest by WorldAtlas