1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. China/
  4. Beijing Municipality

Municipality of Beijing, China

Location of municipality of Beijing on a map

Beijing is a municipality found in the nation of China. Home to 19,612,368 people, it is the 26th largest division in China in terms of population.

Beijing gained its current status as a municipality in the year 1949. The government of Beijing is lead by Wang Anshun and is based in the municipality capital of Beijing (Population: 11,716,620).

The most populous cities in Beijing are: Beijing (Population: 11,716,620), Mentougou (Population: 197,772), Tongzhou (Population: 163,326), Shunyi (Population: 117,623), Daxing (Population: 104,904).

Beijing Municipality - Quick Facts

Country China
Region Type Municipality
ISO Code CN_11
Time Zone HKT
Year of Establishment 1949
Capital Beijing (Population: 11,716,620)
Head of Government Wang Anshun
Total Population 19,612,368
Total Area 16,808 sq km (6,490 sq miles)
Population Density 1,166.8 sq km (3,022.1 sq miles)
This page was last updated on July 24, 2015.

Trending on WorldAtlas