Where Is the Baltic Sea?

By Chelangat Faith on August 13 2017 in Society

A view of the Baltic Sea from Estonia.

The Baltic Sea is located in northern Europe and is part of the Atlantic Ocean. The sea is distinguished from the ocean through salinity levels, with the Baltic Sea being much lower in comparison to the ocean. The sea is characterized by ice coverage during the winter season, with the ice getting to the maximum level around February and March. The Baltic Sea has been subdivided into several sections for effective management and administration, and has numerous tributaries that feed it with water, the largest being Neva tributary in terms of water discharge. The sea is also home to several islands and is characterized by storm floods which can be hazardous when they occur.


The history of the Baltic Sea stretches back to the Roman Empire. The sea is associated with early traders and merchants from Scandinavia, who built their empire around the sea. The sea was initially referred to by several names acquired from different communities. For example, the Tacitus society referred to the sea as Mare Suebicum, while Jordanes called it the Germanic Sea. The name adapted and used to date was from Adam of Bremen. The motivation behind the name was the outline of the sea which resembles a belt as well as an island that has been regarded as legendary. Estonian people refer to the body of water as the West Sea, based on their geographical location to the sea.


The Baltic Sea is estimated to cover about 1,600 kilometers in length, while its width extends to approximately 193 kilometers. The sea has an average depth of 55 meters, a maximum depth of 459 meters, and a volume of 20,000 cubic kilometers. Nations that border this sea include Sweden, Denmark, and Finland. The sea's latitudes ranges from 53°N to 66°N, and its longitude ranges from 10°E to 30°E. The Kiel Canal is an artificial waterway that links the Baltic Sea with the White Sea.

Subdivisions of the Sea

The sea has been subdivided into different sections to ease its management and administration. Subdivisions include Bothnia’s Gulf, Bothnia’s Bay, Finland’s gulf, Riga’s Gulf, and the Bay of Gdansk. By having these sections, governments from the section areas are able to manage the area of sea in their territory.

More in Society