What Is The Capital City Of Hungary?

The city of Budapest is separated by the River Danube.
The city of Budapest is separated by the River Danube.

Where Is Hungary?

The Central European nation of Hungary occupies an area of 93,030 square km in the Carpathian Basin. The country is bordered by Slovakia, Ukraine, Romania, Serbia, Croatia, Slovenia, and Austria to the north, northeast, east, south, southwest, west, and northwest, respectively. The nation of about 10 million people has Budapest as the capital city.

What Type of Government Does Hungary Have?

Hungary is a sovereign state and a parliamentary, representative democratic republic. The Fundamental Law of Hungary serves as the Constitution of the country. After the fall of communism, Hungary became a multi-party state. There are three levels of government in the country; the executive, legislature, and judiciary. The Prime Minister of Hungary is the head of government while the head of the state title is designated to the country’s President.

What Is the Capital of Hungary?

Budapest is the country’s capital city. With a population of about 1,752,704 individuals, Budapest is also the country’s most populous city. It has an area of 525 square km. It is the European Union’s 10th largest city. The city is located strategically at the center of the Carpathian Basin. Budapest is 216 km south-east of the Austrian city of Vienna and 1,565 km south-west of the Russian capital city of Moscow. The Danube River passes through the city. It enters from the north and separates the city into two parts.

History of Budapest

Budapest began as a tiny Celtic settlement called Aquincum that grew to become the Roman capital of Lower Pannonia. The Hungarians started inhabiting the settlement since the 9th century. Following the Battle of Mohács in the 16th century, the settlement came under the control of the Ottomans. After nearly 150 years of Ottoman rule, Budapest emerged as a prosperous global city. It city was formed by the unification of Pest on the Danube River’s east bank with Óbuda and Buda located on the west bank of the river. The unification occurred on November 17, 1873. The city served as the co-capital of the Austro-Hungarian Empire with Vienna as the other capital prior to the fall of the Empire in 1918. The city also served as the focal point of several revolutions and battles for centuries. It was thus the first choice as the capital city of the country when Hungary declared itself an independent nation in 1918.

Role of Budapest as the Capital City of Colombia

Today, Budapest is a thriving global city that is regarded as one of Europe’s most beautiful cities. It is one of Europe’s leading cities in terms of commerce, media, art, technology, education, entertainment, etc. Several prestigious international organizations have their regional offices located in Budapest. In 2016, the GDP of Budapest was $141.0 billion that accounted for 49.6% of the national GDP of the country. It is regarded as one of the world’s top 100 GDP performing cities.

As the capital city of the country, Budapest is also the seat of the national government. The Sándor Palace in the District I of the city is the residence of the President of Hungary. The Hungarian Parliament serves as the office of the country’s Prime Minister. It is located in District V and also seats the National Assembly. The government ministries are scattered throughout the city with most located in District V. The highest courts of the nation are also located in the city.


More in World Facts