Countries Of Oceania By Area

The flag of Nauru, the smallest country in Oceania.

Countries of Oceania by Area

Oceania is a region covering the islands of the tropical Pacific Ocean. The region is divided into three sub-regions: Melanesia, Polynesia, and Micronesia. The three geological continents of Eurasia, Australia, and Zealandia form Oceania. Oceania covers an area of approximately 8.5 million square kilometers. There are countries within the Oceania region that are considered to be part of Asia. Some of the countries within the Oceania region have territories located somewhere other than Oceania while other countries have their territories within the Oceania region. The countries of Oceania by area include:


Australia comprises of a mainland including the Australian continent, the island of Tasmania and several other small islands. The mainland and the islands form the territory of Australia which is the sixth largest country in the world. The country has a landmass of 2.9 million square miles including its mainland and islands. Australia is separated from Arafura and Timor seas by the Coral Sea which borders on the Queensland coast. As Australia is isolated from the rest of the continents, it is often referred to as an ‘Island Continent’ and is also considered to be the world’s largest island.

Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea is situated on the eastern part of New Guinea and its offshore islands which are located in the Melanesia. It covers an area of 178,704 square miles making it the 54th largest country. The country is located on the Pacific Ring of Fire, at the point where several tectonic plates collide. The mainland is on the eastern part of New Guinea Island and has several other islands within it such as New Ireland, New Britain, and Manus.


Indonesia is one of the world’s transcontinental countries. It is located mainly in South East Asia with some of its territory in the Oceania. The country is found between two oceans, the Indian and Pacific and it forms the world’s largest island with a total area of 735,300 square miles. Indonesia is also the 14th largest country by the total land area and 7th largest by combined sea and land area. It extends 3,181 miles westwards and 1,090 miles southwards. The territories of Indonesia in the Oceania cover an area of approximately 420,540 square kilometers. In Oceania, Indonesia shares its borders with Papua New Guinea, Australia, and Palau.

New Zealand

New Zealand geographically comprises of two major islands, the North and South Islands that are separated from each other by the Cook Strait. It has about 600 other smaller islands which form part of its territories. It is part of Oceania and Australasia. New Zealand covers a total land area of over 103,000 square miles with the South Island as its largest landmass and the 12th largest island in the world. New Zealand is generally long and narrow, about 990 miles long and a maximum width of 250 miles. It is also part of the Zealand micro-continent that submerged after separating from a supercontinent known as Gondwanan.

Countries Of Oceania By Area

RankCountryArea (km²)
2Papua New Guinea462,840
4New Zealand270,467
5Solomon Islands28,896
11Federated States of Micronesia702
13Marshall Islands181

More in World Facts