1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. The Niger/
  4. Where is The Niger

Where is The Niger?

map showing the location of The Niger

Located in the continent of Africa, Niger covers 1,267,000 square kilometers of land, making it the 22nd largest nation in terms of land area.

The Niger became an independent state in 1960, after gaining its sovereignty from France. The population of The Niger is 17,078,839 (2012) and the nation has a density of 13 people per square kilometer.

The currency of The Niger is the CFA Franc BCEAO (XOF). As well, the people of The Niger are refered to as Nigerien.

The dialing code for the country is 227 and the top level internet domain for Nigerien sites is .ne.

The Niger shares land borders with 7 countries: Libya, Chad, Mali, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Benin, Nigeria.

To learn more, visit our detailed Niger section.

Quick facts

Population 17,078,839
Density 13.5 / km2 ( 34.9 / mi2 )
Language French
Independence Year 1960
Capital Niamey (Niamey)
Currency CFA Franc BCEAO
GDP 8,168,695,870 (2014 data)
GDP per Capita 478 (2014 data)
Land Area 1,267,000 km2 (489,191 mi2)
Neighbouring Countries Nigeria, Libya, Chad, Mali, Algeria, Burkina Faso, Benin
Minimum Longitude 0.170
Maximum Longitude 16.000
Mininum Latitude 11.700
Maximum Latitude 23.530

What is the capital of The Niger?

map showing the location of The Niger
Location of Niamey on a map.

Niamey is the capital city of Niger. It has a population of 774,235, and is located on a latitue of 13.51 and longitude of 2.11.

Niamey is also the political center of Niger, which is considered a Republic, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Niamey, the Capital Of The Niger

City Niamey
Country The Niger
Population 774,235
Longitude 2.10980000
Latitude 13.51366000
Elevation 206 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in The Niger

Rank City Population

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on October 2, 2015.