1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Niger/
  4. Niger Timeline

Niger History Timeline

Niger's Information

Flag of Niger
Land Area 1,266,700 km2
Water Area 300 km2
Total Area 1,267,000km2 (#21)
Population 18,638,600 (#60)
Population Density 14.71/km2
Government Type Semi-presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $20.15 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,100
Currency Franc (XOF)
Largest Cities

See Also

1800s - 1900s

  • (1890) France occupied the region of Niger
  • (1922) Niger became a French colony
  • (1958) Niger became an autonomous state within the French Community
  • (1960) Niger declared independence with Hamani Diori as president
  • (1968-1973) Livestock and crop production devastated by a severe drought
  • (1974) A combination of devastating drought conditions and accusations of rampant corruption resulted in Diori being overthrown by Lt. Colonel Seyni Kountche
  • (1987) Ali Seybou named president following the death of Kountche
  • (1989) A new constitution was introduced transitioning Niger back to civilian rule under a one-party system; Seybou was re-elected president
  • (1990) Opposition parties were legalized following an uprising
  • (1990) Tuareg Rebellion began in the northern region
  • (1991) Seybou was stripped of his powers following a constitutional conference; a transitional government was set up and led by Andre Salifou
  • (1992) A new constitution allowing for multi-party elections was introduced
  • (1993) Mahamane Ousmane was elected president
  • (1995) A ceasefire between the government and Tuarge's Revolutionary Armed Forces was passed
  • (1996) Ousmane was overthrown in a coup led by Col. Ibrahim Mainassara; a new constitution was introduced granting the president an increase in powers
  • (1997) A peace accord was signed between the Tuaregs and Nigerien government
  • (1999) Mainassara was assassinated; a new constitution was issued restoring the balance between branches of power
  • (1999) Mamadou Tandja was elected president

  • (2001) Hunting of wildlife banned in an effort to save the lion, giraffe, and hippo populations
  • (2002) A mutiny of soldiers occurred in the capital and eastern region of the country
  • (2004) Tandja was re-elected
  • (2006) A national strike was waged amongst union members protesting the high cost of living
  • (2007) A series of deadly attacks were carried out by Tuareg rebels
  • (2008) 110 million-year-old fossils of two previously unknown dinosaurs were discovered in the desert region
  • (2009) A referendum endorsed new constitution granted President Tandja three more years along with a broader range of powers
  • (2010) Tandja was ousted and Col. Salou Djibo was named head of the new military government; The African Union suspended Niger's membership
  • (2011) Mahamadou Issoufou was elected president
  • (2013) The historical city of Agadez was awarded World Heritage status by UNESCO
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa