1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Burkina Faso/
  4. Burkina Faso Timeline

Burkina Faso History Timeline

1000 - 1400

  • (1000s) Mossi Kingdom became dominant
  • (1300s) Islam was introduced
  • (1450s) Capital built at Ouagudougou by Mossi Kingdom
1700 - 1800
  • (1710 - 1895) Muslim rulers led Kong Empire, included Burkina Faso and Ivory Coast
  • (1895) Mossi kingdom of Ouagadougou defeated by French colonial forces
  • (1896) Burkina Faso became French protectorate
  • (1904) Territories of the Volta Basin became part of French West African colonial empire
  • (1915 - 1916) In Volta-Bani War, indigenous African army fought French Army; French Army defeated insurgents, executed leaders
  • (1919) Upper Volta became separate constituent territory of French West Africa
  • (1919) Colonial government separated present territory of Burkina Faso from Upper Senegal and Niger, named it Haute Volta; Francois Charles Alexis Edouard Hesling became first governor
  • (1932) Colony was dismantled, divided between Cote d'Ivoire, French Sudan, Niger
  • (1947) Colony was revived with its original boundaries, as part of French Union
  • (1958) Upper Volta granted internal self-government, became Republic of Upper Volta
  • (1960) Upper Volta gained independence from France; Maurice Yameogo became first president
  • (1965) Maurice Yameogo elected to second term
  • (1966) Mass demonstrations and strikes by students, labor unions, and civil servants were held, military was forced to intervene
  • (1966) Military deposed President Yameogo, suspended constitution, dissolved National Assembly, placed Lt. Col Sangoule Lamizana as head of government of senior army officers
  • (1968) Major drought severely impacted economy, agriculture, livestock and human population
  • (1970) New constitution in national referendum established four-year transition period toward civilian rule, allowed Lamizana to remain as head of government until a president was elected
  • (1970) Gerard Ouedraogo appointed prime minister
  • (1974) President Lamizana ousted Prime Minister Ouedraogo, dissolved Parliament, returned power to military government
  • (1975) Economic Community of West African States formed, Burkina Faso one of 15 members
  • (1977) New constitution written and approved, called for multi-party democracy, allowed Lamizana to remain in office
  • (1978) Lamizana reelected as president in open election
  • (1980) Lamizana ousted in military coup led by Saye Zerbo, eradicated 1977 constitution
  • (1982) Following industrial unrest, Saye Zerbo ousted in military coup led by Jean-Baptiste Ouedraogo
  • (1983) Thomas Sankara appointed prime minister
  • (1983) In internal political struggle, Thomas Sankara took power from Ouedraogo, formed National Council for the Revolution, established himself as president
  • (1984) Upper Volta renamed Burkina Faso
  • (1987) Thomas Sankara assassinated in military coup led by Captain Blaise Compaore who took over power
  • (1990) Blaise Compaore introduced democratic and constitutional reforms
  • (1991) Compaore elected president without opposition
  • (1992) Popular Democracy-Labour Movement won majority of seats in first multi-party parliamentary elections since 1978
  • (1996) 4,000 died in meningitis outbreak
  • (1997) Burkina Faso suffered severe drought
  • (1998) Campaore reelected president by a landslide
  • (1998) David Ouedraogo, chauffeur for President Campaore's brother, Francois, died from torture injuries caused by two of the President's bodyguards
  • (1998) Publisher and editor of l'Independant, Norbert Zongo, was assassinated
  • (1999) Inquiry into death of Zongo concluded he was killed for political reasons
  • (1999) General strike held over economic grievances and human rights violations
  • (1999) Mining company Soremib announced closure of country's largest gold mine
  • (2000) Two of President Campaore's bodyguards were convicted and sentenced to 20 years in prison for murder of David Ouedraogo
  • (2000) Constitution was amended to allow president to serve two terms
  • (2000) U.S. and British diplomats accused President Compaore and President Taylor of Liberia of trading arms for diamonds, aiding rebels in Sierra Leone
  • (2000) Government agreed to allow UN-run organization to monitor weapons imports
  • (2001) Meningitis outbreak killed 3,500
  • (2001) Thousands fled to Burkina Faso from Ivory Coast to escape attacks on foreigners
  • (2001) As part of Burkina Faso's first "National Pardon Day", President Compaore asked for forgiveness for abuses that occurred during his 13-year rule
  • (2002) W135 strain of meningitis from Middle East identified in Burkina Faso; 12,000 infected, 1,500 died
  • (2002) President Compaore increased power, threw out all nine opposition ministers from Cabinet, cut number of posts from 36 to 31

Burkina Faso's Information

Flag of Burkina Faso
Land Area 273,800 km2
Water Area 400 km2
Total Area 274,200km2 (#74)
Population 19,512,533 (#59)
Population Density 71.27/km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $32.99 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,800
Currency Franc (XOF)
More Information Burkina Faso

About Burkina Faso

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa