1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Guinea


Physical Map of Guinea

Physical Map of Guinea displaying its state boundaries, relief, major rivers, important cities, highest elevation, etc.
Print Map

The coastal country of Guinea in West Africa covers an area of 245,857 sq. km. 

The country has been divided into four geographic regions. The Lower Guinea or the coastal plain that runs north to south along the coast of the country on the Gulf of Guinea. It features many drowned river valleys or rias and there are tidal estuaries and offshore islands.

The second region is the Fouta Djallon Highlands in Middle Guinea. The third region is Upper Guinea covered by savanna and finally Forest Guinea which is located to the southeast of the country and is covered by rainforests.

As visible on the physical map above, several rivers originate in the highlands of Guinea like the Niger and its tributaries, Bafing River, Milo River, Konkoure, and others.

Guinea's highest point is Mont Nimba at 1,752 m and marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle in southern Guinea. The lowest point is the Atlantic Ocean at 0m.

Regions of Guinea Map

Political Map of Guinea showing the seven administrative regions, their capitals, and the national capital of Conakry.
Print Map

Guinea has seven regions which are Boke, Conakry*, Faranah, Kankan, Kindia, Labe, Mamou, and N'Zerekore. The national capital of Conakry is ranked as a special zone. The regions of Guinea are subdivided into 33 prefectures which, in turn, are divided into sub-prefectures.

With an area of 72,145 sq. km, Kankan is the largest region of Guinea and the most populous one as well.

Where is Guinea?

Where is Guinea?
Print Map

Guinea is located in West Africa where it borders six countries. These are Senegal to the north, Mali to the northeast, Ivory Coast to the east, Liberia to the south, Sierra Leone to the southwest, and Guinea-Bissau to the northwest. The country has a coastline along the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest. It is located in the Northern and Western Hemispheres.

Guinea Bordering Countries: Mali, Senegal, Guinea-Bissau, Liberia, Cote D'Ivoire, Sierra Leone.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Guinea

Blank Outline Map of Guinea

The blank outline map represents the West African country of Guinea. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for educational purposes.

Print Map
Outline Map of Guinea

The outline map represents the West African country of Guinea. It is a coastal country bordering the Atlantic Ocean.

Print Map

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Guinea
Capital City Conakry
9 30 N, 13 42 W
Independence 2 October 1958 (from France)


Total Area 245,857 km2
Land Area 245,717 km2
Water Area 140 km2
Total Border 4,046 km
Coastline 320 km
Bordering Countries Cote d'Ivoire 816 km, Guinea-Bissau 421 km, Liberia 590 km, Mali 1062 km, Senegal 363 km, Sierra Leone 794 km
Climate Generally hot and humid; monsoonal-type rainy season (june to november) with southwesterly winds; dry season (december to may) with northeasterly harmattan winds
Coordinates 11 00 N, 10 00 W
Mean Elevation 472 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Atlantic Ocean
Highest Elevation 1,752 m
Mont Nimba


Population 12,771,246
Ethnic Groups Fulani (Peuhl) 33.4%, Malinke 29.4%, Susu 21.2%, Guerze 7.8%, Kissi 6.2%, Toma 1.6%, other/foreign .4% (2018 est.)
Languages French (official), Pular, Maninka, Susu, other native languages
Religions Muslim 89.1%, Christian 6.8%, animist 1.6%, other .1%, none 2.4% (2014 est.)


Currency Guinean francs (GNF)
GDP $13.59 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,064.13
Exports Bauxite, gold, diamonds, coffee, fish, agricultural products

This page was last updated on September 14, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas