1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. China/
  4. Inner Mongolia Autonomous region

Autonomous region of Inner Mongolia, China

Location of autonomous region of Inner Mongolia on a map

Inner Mongolia is a autonomous region found in the nation of China. Home to 24,706,321 people, it is the 23rd largest division in China in terms of population.

Inner Mongolia gained its current status as a autonomous region in the year 1949. The government of Inner Mongolia is lead by Bagatur and is based in the autonomous region capital of Hohhot (Population: 774,477).

The most populous cities in Inner Mongolia are: Ordos (Population: 1,940,653), Baotou (Population: 1,301,768), Hohhot (Population: 774,477), Chifeng (Population: 346,654), Tongliao (Population: 261,110).

Inner Mongolia Autonomous region - Quick Facts

Country China
Region Type Autonomous region
ISO Code CN_15
Time Zone HKT
Year of Establishment 1949
Capital Hohhot (Population: 774,477)
Head of Government Bagatur
Total Population 24,706,321
Total Area 1,181,104 sq km (456,027 sq miles)
Population Density 20.9 sq km (54.2 sq miles)
This page was last updated on July 24, 2015.

Trending on WorldAtlas