1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Mauritania/
  4. Where is Mauritania

Where is Mauritania?

map showing the location of Mauritania

Located in the continent of Africa, Mauritania covers 1,030,700 square kilometers of land, making it the 29th largest nation in terms of land area.

Mauritania became an independent state in 1960, after gaining its sovereignty from France. The population of Mauritania is 3,359,185 (2012) and the nation has a density of 3 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Mauritania is the Ouguiya (MRO). As well, the people of Mauritania are refered to as Mauritanian.

The dialing code for the country is 222 and the top level internet domain for Mauritanian sites is .mr.

Mauritania shares land borders with 4 countries: Mali, Algeria, Senegal, Western Sahara.

To learn more, visit our detailed Mauritania section.

Quick facts

Population 3,359,185
Density 3.3 / km2 ( 8.4 / mi2 )
Language Arabic
Independence Year 1960
Capital Nouakchott (Nouakchott)
Currency Ouguiya
GDP 5,061,180,371 (2014 data)
GDP per Capita 1,507 (2014 data)
Land Area 1,030,700 km2 (397,955 mi2)
Neighbouring Countries Mali, Algeria, Senegal, Western Sahara
Minimum Longitude -17.070
Maximum Longitude -4.820
Mininum Latitude 14.720
Maximum Latitude 27.300

What is the capital of Mauritania?

map showing the location of Mauritania
Location of Nouakchott on a map.

Nouakchott is the capital city of Mauritania. It has a population of 661,400, and is located on a latitue of 18.09 and longitude of -15.98.

Nouakchott is also the political center of Mauritania, which is considered a Republic, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Nouakchott, the Capital Of Mauritania

City Nouakchott
Country Mauritania
Population 661,400
Longitude -15.97850000
Latitude 18.08581000
Elevation 10 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in Mauritania

Rank City Population

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on October 2, 2015.