1. World Map/
  2. Seven wonders of the modern world map and information page

Seven wonders of the modern world map and information page

Seven Wonders of the Modern World

The campaign to pick the "Seven Wonders of the Modern World" began in 1999 when Swiss adventurer Bernard Weber asked for nominations. Overall he received almost 200 from across the planet.

On July 8, 2007, the winners were announced at a glitzy show in Lisbon, Portugal, and the seven winners were chosen by the more than 95 million votes received. And the winners are....

  • The Great Wall of China
  • Petra in Jordan
  • Christ the Redeemer Statue in Brazil
  • Peru's Machu Picchu
  • Mexico's Chichen Itza Pyramid
  • Rome's Colosseum
  • India's Taj Mahal

This new list does not replace the original Seven Wonders of the Ancient World, of which the Great Pyramid of Giza is the only one still standing today. It only tries to offer a more realistic example of wondrous manmade objects still visible today.

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on August 10, 2015.