1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Middle East/
  4. Pakistan/
  5. Pakistan Timeline

Pakistan History Timeline

Pakistan's Information

Flag of Pakistan
Land Area 770,875 km2
Water Area 25,220 km2
Total Area 796,095km2 (#35)
Population 201,995,540 (#6)
Population Density 262.03/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $988.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $5,100
Currency Rupee (PKR)
More Information Pakistan
Largest Cities


  • (3000-1600 BC) Indus Valley civilization of modern-day Pakistan
  • (3000-1500 BC) City of Harappa, part of the Indus Valley civilization, flourished
  • (2500 - 1500 BC) Mohenjo-daro in southern Pakistan evolved as early urban center
  • (1700s BC) Start of the Aryan civilization
  • (1500s BC) Aryans came into the Punjab region, followed a strict caste system
  • (600 BC) People became frustrated by caste system
  • (516 BC) Persians conquered north Pakistan and made it part of Achaemenid Empire of Persia
  • (327 - 325BC) Alexander the Great of Macedonia invaded, captured Taxila, Pakistan
  • (323 BC) Alexander the Great died, his generals divided the empire among themselves
  • (185 BC) Bactrian Greeks seized northwest Pakistan
  • (75 BC) Scythians from central Asia arrived
20 AD - 700 AD
  • (20) Parthians conquered northern (present day) Pakistan
  • (60) Parthians overthrown by central-Asian Kushans
  • (300) Kushans declined, Sassanian Empire of Persia prevailed
  • (400) Kidar Kushans came into power
  • (445) White Huns invaded Gandhara
  • (565) Sassanians and Turks overthrew Huns
  • (600 - 700) Turki Shahi controlled the west of Indus, included Gandhara
  • (711) Muhammad bin Qasim conquered Sindh, Pakistan and southern Punjab in India
1000s - 1800s
  • (1000) Turkish Muslims invaded northern Pakistan
  • (1058) Soomra Dynasty ended Arab domination, established rule over Sindh
  • (1206) Most of present-day Pakistan became part of the Delhi Sultanate
  • (1526) Babar, a Muslim ruler from Afghanistan, invaded India, established the Mogul Empire
  • (1526) Construction began of Lahore Fort
  • (1740) East India Company gained political control over most of India
  • (1849) Britain annexed Punjab territories (now eastern Pakistan and north-western India)
  • (1858) British took control of East India Company, the territory became known as British India
  • (1893) Durand Line Agreement established international border between Pakistan and Afghanistan
  • (1906) Muslim League founded as a forum for Indian Muslim separatism
  • (1935) Earthquake in Quetta killed over 50,000 people
  • (1940) Muslim League demanded partition of separate nation for India's Muslims
  • (1947) British and Indian leaders divided country into two sovereign states: India and Pakistan
  • (1947) Pakistan became independent
  • (1947) Muhammad Ali Jinnah became governor-general, Liaquat Ali Khan prime minister
  • (1947) Pakistan joined UN
  • (1948) War broke out with India over disputed territory of Kashmir
  • (1948) Muhammad Ali Jinnah died
  • (1948) Urdu declared national language
  • (1948) Khwaja Nazimuddin became governor-general upon death of Jinnah
  • (1949) War over Kashmir ended after UN brokered cease-fire
  • (1951) Prime Minister Liaquat assassinated; Khwaja Nazimuddin became prime minister, Malik Ghulam Muhammad became governor-general
  • (1953) Muhammad Ali Bogra sworn in as prime minister
  • (1954) Resolution passed by Constituent Assembly established Urdu and Bengali as national languages
  • (1955) Governor-General Ghulam Mohammad resigned, succeeded by Iskander Mirza
  • (1956) Constitution adopted proclaiming Pakistan as an Islamic Republic
  • (1956) Prime Minister Mirza became first president of Pakistan; Huseyn Shaheed Suhrawardy assumed office of prime minister
  • (1957) Prime Minister Suhrawardy resigned after losing party support; Malik Feroz Khan Noon became prime minister
  • (1958) Mirza suspended the constitution, declared martial law, canceled elections
  • (1958) Field Marshal Muhammad Ayub Khan led military coup, ousted President Mirza
  • (1958) Mirza sent into exile
  • (1960) General Mohammad Ayub Khan became first elected president
  • (1960) Islamabad was declared the capital city
  • (1963) Trade agreement was signed between Pakistan and China
  • (1963) Pakistan and China signed border agreement
  • (1963) Cyclone along coast of Bay of Bengal killed over 22,000 in east Pakistan
  • (1965) President Ayub Khan re-elected
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia