1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Japan/
  4. Kanagawa Prefecture

Prefecture of Kanagawa, Japan

Location of prefecture of Kanagawa on a map

Kanagawa is a prefecture found in the nation of Japan. Home to 8,489,932 people, it is the 3rd largest division in Japan in terms of population.

Kanagawa gained its current status as a prefecture in the year 1868. The government of Kanagawa is lead by Yuji Kuroiwaand is based in the prefecture capital of Yokohama (Population: 3,574,443).

The most populous cities in Kanagawa are: Yokohama (Population: 3,574,443), Kawasaki (Population: 1,306,785), Yokosuka (Population: 428,992), Fujisawa (Population: 394,624), Hiratsuka (Population: 259,052).

Kanagawa Prefecture - Quick Facts

Country Japan
Region Type Prefecture
ISO Code JP_14
Time Zone JST
Year of Establishment 1868
Capital Yokohama (Population: 3,574,443)
Head of Government Yuji Kuroiwa
Total Population 8,489,932
Total Area 2,415 sq km (932 sq miles)
Population Density 3,515.5 sq km (9,105.1 sq miles)
This page was last updated on July 24, 2015.

Trending on WorldAtlas