What Is the Capital of Seychelles?

The Victoria Clock Tower, also known as Little Big Ben, in Victoria, Seychelles.
The Victoria Clock Tower, also known as Little Big Ben, in Victoria, Seychelles.

Where Is Seychelles?

Located in the Indian Ocean, Seychelles is an independent nation and an archipelago of 115 islands. The country has a total area of about 459 square km and its population is roughly 94,228. Seychelles is well-known for its picturesque islands and is regarded as a tropical paradise. The country thus attracts tourists from all parts of the globe.

What Type of Government Does Seychelles Have?

Seychelles is governed as a unitary presidential republic. Elected by popular vote, the President of Seychelles serves as the head of government and head of state. Executive powers are held by the president and cabinet, while legislative powers are vested in the National Assembly, which includes 34 members. Cabinet members are appointed by the president but require approval by the legislature. The Supreme Court of Seychelles is the highest trial court in the nation and the Seychelles Court of Appeal is the country’s highest court of final appeal.

What Is the Capital of Seychelles?

Victoria is the capital of Seychelles. The city has a total area of only 20.1 square km and has a population of 26,450 people in 2010. Thus, Victoria is one of the world’s smallest capital cities. Victoria is located on the northeastern coast of Mahe Island, which is the largest island in the archipelago. Victoria is the country’s only port, as well as the only settlement that can be regarded as a town. Nearly one-third of Seychelles's total population resides in Victoria. The city experiences a tropical rainforest climate, and therefore high temperatures are recorded throughout the year.

History of Victoria

Like the rest of Seychelles, the land that is now Victoria was largely uninhabited for most of recorded history. However, prior to European colonization of the islands, they were possibly visited by traders and seafarers from the Arab world, Maldives, and Austronesia. Pirates active in the region also used the islands to hide treasures. The first settlements in the area were established by French colonists in 1778, after claiming the island in 1756. Later, the British gained control of Seychelles after signing the Treaty of Paris in 1814. It was at this time that the settlement was named Victoria, after the Queen of England. Seychelles gained independence from the United Kingdom on June 29, 1976, and Victoria was named the capital of the newly independent nation.

Role of Victoria as the Capital of Seychelles?

As the capital, Victoria is the seat of the national government of Seychelles. The State House, which is the office of the President of Seychelles, is located in Victoria. The parliament also meets in the city, as well as other government ministries and departments. Victoria is also the nation's cultural and business center. Various products like coconuts, fish, guano, and vanilla are exported from the port of Victoria.


More in World Facts