Biggest Islands Of Seychelles

Mahe island in Seychelles.
Mahe island in Seychelles.

Seychelles is an African country in the Indian Ocean, an archipelago, which means a chain or group of islands. The island nation contains 115 islands in total. In Seychelles, there are three island types those which are granite-based, often referred to as Granitic Seychelles, the coral islands, and the raised coral islands. Most of the Islands in Seychelles are not inhabited; many are nature reserves. The area is divided into two regions: the granitic group of islands, also known as the inner islands; and the coralline islands, also known as the outer islands.

Biggest Islands Of Seychelles


At 59.85 square mi, Mahe is the biggest island in Seychelles. It is located northeast of the country and is the site of Seychelles capital city, Victoria. 86% of Seychelles’ total population lives on Mahe. It is named after a Frenchman, Bertrand-François Mahé de La Bourdonnais, who was Mauritius’ governor in the 18th century. In addition to being home to most of the country’s population, Mahe contains Seychelles International Airport, the University of Seychelles, and the Baie Ternay, Port Launey, and Sainte Anne Marine National Parks. Its main economic activities are tourism and fishing. Its forests are home to rare endemic flora, for instance, the endangered Medusagyne oppositifolia, commonly known as the Jellyfish tree. Other rare endemic flora includes its variety of unique orchid species and its carnivorous Seychelles Pitcher plant. The island implemented a major land reclamation project when there was a shortage of housing in the area, especially in the Port of Victoria and Bel Ombre.


At 14.67 square mi, Praslin is the second largest island in Seychelles. It contains two administrative districts: Grand’ Anse and Baie Sainte Anne. In the eighteenth century, Arab merchants and pirates used it to hide their loot. Originally named Isle de Palmes in 1744, it was given a new name, Praslin, in 1768, honoring a French diplomat César Gabriel de Choiseul, duc de Praslin. With its resorts hotels and beaches, the island of Praslin is a popular tourist destination. Its tropical forests are rich in wildlife, for instance, endemic bird species like the Seychelles bulbul and the Seychelles black parrot. It contains the Praslin Island Airport. A significant portion of the area south of the island is designated as a national park and Important Bird Area.


Silhouette the third largest island in Seychelles is Silhouette Island, at 7.76 square mi. Most of its 200 inhabitants are workers on the island. It was named after Etienne de Silhouette, who was a minister of finance during the reign of Louis XV. In the 19th Century, the island was owned by the Dauban family who later sold it to a French group, and afterward to the Seychelles government, which constructed a small hotel. Later a larger resort would take the place of the hotel and would be purchased by the Hilton group of Hotels. Rich in biodiversity, Silhouette Island contained a variety of endemic and threatened flora and fauna, such as the Seychelles sheath-tailed bat, which is classified as critically endangered. Silhouette National Park was created in 2010. Other species found on the island include the Seychelles kestrel, the Seychelles blue pigeon, and the Seychelles Giant tortoise.


At 4.48 square mi, Assumption Island is the fourth largest island in Seychelles. Captain Nicholas Morphey discovered the island in 1756 and named it after the religious feast of the next day. It was leased to Mr. H. Savy in 1908, who built a plantation for coconuts on the island. Later he pursued guano mining on the island after realizing the potential of guano. The island’s population comprises mostly military personnel and supporting contractors. It contains bases for the navy and air force of India, who use the island as per an agreement with the government of Seychelles. Inhabitants practice small-scale farming and some fishing while working at the coast guard station. It used to be rich in seabird species, and the Seychelles Islands Foundation is working with the Island Conservation Society to restore the habitat of the island; a process which began with taking out invasive bird species which were not native to the area, such as the Madagascar Fody.

Other Islands In Seychelles

Other islands in Seychelles include La Dique at 3.86 square mi, the 3.60 square mi Coetivy, the 3.05 square mi Astove, the 1.56 square mi Desroches, the 1.13 square mi curieuse, the 1.04 square mi Felicite, the 0.88 square mi Saint Anne, the 0.80 square mi Fregate, and the 0.78 square mi North Island, among others. They are 115 islands in Seychelles.

Biggest Islands Of Seychelles

RankMajor Islands of SeychellesLand Area
1Mahe59.85 square miles
2Praslin14.67 square miles
3Silhouette7.76 square miles
4Assumption4.48 square miles
5La Digue3.86 square miles
6Coetivy3.60 square miles
7Astove3.05 square miles
8Desroches1.56 square miles
9Curieuse1.13 square miles
10Felicite1.04 square miles
11Sainte Anne0.88 square miles
12Fregate0.80 square miles
13North Island0.78 square miles
14D'Arros0.66 square miles
15Denis0.54 square miles
16Cerf0.51 square miles
17Bird0.36 square miles
18Couisine0.12 square miles

More in Environment