What Is the Capital of Kentucky?

Kentucky state flag.

Kentucky is a southeastern US state which is located between the Ohio River and the Appalachian Mountains. The capital city of Kentucky is Frankfort. Frankfort is known as the only seat of Franklin County, and the city is located along the Kentucky River and was estimated to have a population of 27,885 inhabitants in 2016. Based on population, Frankfort is among the smallest capitals in the United States. In terms of demographics, 77% of the city's population is Caucasian, 16.5% is Black, 1.4% is Asian, 1.48% is Hispanic, 0.3% is Native American, 0.02% is Pacific Islanders, and 1.8% of the population represents other races. Frankfort has more females in its population than males. For every 100 adult women, there are 92.8 males. The median age of Frankfort is 36.7 years. Economically, the per capita income of the capital is $22,299, and the median family income is $43,949. Frankfort’s sister city is Weidhausen in Germany.

History of Frankfort

The name Frankfort was derived from an event in the 1780s. Some pioneer European-Americans who were making salt at a ford near Kentucky were attacked by American Indians. The Indians killed a pioneer known as Stephen Frank. Following Frank’s death, the ford became known as Frank’s Ford. Frank Ford’s name was elided to become Frankfort. In 1792, Frankfort was chosen as the capital of Kentucky by five commissioners who had been assigned the task of choosing a state capital. At that time, Kentucky had recently been named the 15th US state. Then in 1794, Frankfort had its first post office, and Daniel Weisiger became postmaster.

One of the unfortunate deaths that occurred in Frankfort was that of the governor-elect, named William Goebel, who was killed in 1900 enroute to Frankfort for his inauguration. Over the years, Frankfort has developed. A famous building in Frankfort is the Capitol Plaza, which was built in the 1960s. Frankfort is also home to Buffalo Trace Distillery, which is a major distillery in the state.

Geography of Frankfort

Frankfort covers a total area of 37.8 km2 and is divided into two sides by the Kentucky River. It has four distinct seasons: winter, spring, summer, and fall. The winter season is cool and slightly snowy, while summers are very hot and humid. There is no commercial airport in Frankfort. Travellers use airports such as Louisville International Airport in Louisville and Blue Grass Airport in Lexington to access Frankfort.

Notable Tourist Destinations in Frankfort

There are several places to visit while in Frankfort. These places include the Old State Capitol, which is a meticulous building, the New Capitol Building, Salato Wildlife Education Center, Thomas D. Clark Center, Josephine Sculpture Park, the Governor’s Mansion, Liberty Hall, Cove Springs Park, Elkhorn Creek, and the Capital Museum, among others. Besides these breathtaking sights, there are comfortable hotels for both local and foreign tourists. These hotels include the Hampton Inn, Capital Plaza Hotel, Days Inn, Fairfield Inn & Suites, and University Lodge Motel.


More in World Facts