Which Countries Border Peru?

The Peru-Ecuador border. Editorial credit: Ryszard Stelmachowicz / Shutterstock.com.
The Peru-Ecuador border. Editorial credit: Ryszard Stelmachowicz / Shutterstock.com.

Peru is a country in the South American continent located in the Western side touching on the Pacific Ocean. It is among the unique places that have the most diverse biodiversity in the world with habitats ranging from the extreme desert conditions in the Pacific region to the icy conditions in the Andes Mountains, and to the tropical rainforests of the Amazon. Peru has been considered as the source of the Amazon River as it contains most of the rivers whose waters feed into the mighty Amazon River. The capital of Peru is Lima, and the official language is Spanish with the other main dialects being Quechua and Aymara. As of 2018, the country had a population of 32,000,000 people.

Countries Bordering Peru

Peru borders Chile, Ecuador, Bolivia , Colombia, and Brazil. Together these countries make up a boundary that stretches for a total of 4,636 miles. The Peru-Chile border is the shortest at 106 miles followed by the Peru-Bolivia border at 668 miles. Next is the Peru-Ecuador border which runs for 882 miles and the Peru-Colombia border which stands at 1,118 miles long. The longest border that Peru shares is the Peru-Brazil border that is 1,861 miles long

Peru’s border with Colombia is the most inaccessible as it runs through the Amazonian jungle with no significant roads connecting both sides. The border with Brazil is lengthy but at least has two major crossing points, one on the Amazon River and the other on land. The other three countries have several border crossing points that are easy to access with options ranging from land, rivers, and the ocean.


More in Politics