Prime Ministers and Premiers of Peru Since 1945

Peru's Premier, often referred to as Prime Minister, is appointed by the President to head the Council of Ministers.

Peru is a country found in the western half of the South American continent. Lima is the capital and largest city. Amerindians, accounting for 45% of Peruvians, are the largest ethnic group, while Mestizos (37%) and whites (15%) are the other notable ethnic groups. The country is a unitary presidential representative state with a single legislative house. The president is the head of state, and the government is elected for a term of five years. The constitution does not allow one to be a president for two consecutive terms. The President appoints a Prime Minister with whom they appoint the other members of the cabinet. In this article, we will discuss the role o the prime minister in Peru and some of the notable people who served in the position from 1945 until the present date.

Rafael Belaunde Diez Canseco

Rafael was born in 1885 and died in 1972 at the age of 87 years. He was the son to Mariano Andres de la Torre. H was appointed the prime minister on July 28th, 1945, and served for only six months until January of 1946.

Fernando Zavala Lombardi

Canseco is a Bachelor’s Degree holder who attended the University of the Pacific, having studied economics at the university. He also obtained two masters degrees from the University of Piura and the University of Birmingham in the United Kingdom. Before joining politics, he held several positions in the corporate sector including acting as the assistant manager of Samtronics, and the Chief of IPSOS Peru which is a consulting and pollster firm. In 1995, he was appointed to the post of the National Institute for the Defense of Competition and Protection of Intellectual Property (INDECOP) until late 2000. He has also served as the vice president of a big beer production firm, and later as the president of the national brewery. In 2005, he was appointed as the Minister of Economy and Finance, a position he held until 2006. He was appointed as the prime minister in June of 2016.

Pedro Cateriano

He was born in 1958 in Lima, and is a professional constitutional lawyer. He joined politics in 1990 when he was elected as a member of parliament until 1992. He rejoined politics in 2001 where he was made the Organization of American States election observer in Guatemala. He became the minister of defense in 2012 and was later appointed the prime minister in April of 2015. He resigned as the premier on the 28th of July in 2016. He Is currently a law lecture at the University of Lima.

Oscar Eduardo Valdes Dancuart

He was born in Lima in the year 1949, and was educated at the Chorrillos Military school. He later joined the Peruvian Army. Thereafter, he became an instructor at the Chorrillos Military Academy himself after taking on a course teaching command and staff. Oscar resigned from the army in 1991 and started working in the private sector. He was appointed the prime minister in 2011 but was sacked after he took a very tough stance against protesters in the controversial Conga mining project. He was accused of militarizing of the government which caused an uproar among human rights activists.

​Role of the Prime Minister of Peru

The prime minister is the president of the Peruvian Cabinet and presides over the meetings of the Cabinet. Together with the cabinet, they have three significant roles in the country. They approve the laws submitted by the President to the Congress, approve legislative decrees and also deliberate on any subject that is of public interest.

Prime Ministers and Premiers of Peru Since 1945 Term(s) in Office
Rafael Belaúnde Diez Canseco 1945-1946
Julio Ernesto Portugal Escobedo 1946-1947
José R. Alzamora Freundt January-October of 1947
Roque Augusto Saldías Maninat February-June of 1948; 1954-1956
Armando Revoredo Iglesias June-October of 1948
Zenón Noriega Agüero 1950-1954
Manuel Cisneros Sánchez 1956-1958
Luis Gallo Porras 1958-1959
Pedro Gerardo Beltrán Espantoso 1959-1961
Carlos Moreyra y Paz Soldán 1961-1962
Nicolás Lindley López 1962-1963
Julio Óscar Trelles Montes July-December of 1963
Fernando Schwalb López Aldana 1963-1965; 1983-1984
Daniel Becerra de la Flor 1965-1967
Edgardo Seoane Corrales September-November of 1967
Raúl Ferrero Rebagliati 1967-1968
Oswaldo Hercelles García May-October of 1968
Miguel Mujica Gallo October of 1968
Ernesto Montagne Sánchez 1968-1973
Luis Edgardo Mercado Jarrín 1973-1975
Francisco Morales Bermúdez February-August of 1975
Óscar Vargas Prieto 1975-1976
Jorge Fernández Maldonado Solari January-July of 1976
Guillermo Arbulú Galliani 1976-1978
Óscar Molina Pallochia 1978-1979
Pedro Richter Prada 1979-1980
Manuel Ulloa Elías 1980-1983
Sandro Mariátegui Chiappe April-October of 1984
Luis Ciro Pércovich Roca 1984-1985
Luis Juan Alva Castro 1985-1987
Guillermo Larco Cox 1987-1988; 1989-1990
Armando Villanueva del Campo 1988-1989
Luis Alberto Felix Sánchez May-September of 1989
Juan Carlos Hurtado Miller 1990-1991
Carlos Torres y Torres Lara February-November of 1991
Alfonso de los Heros Perez Alba 1991-1992
Óscar de la Puente Raygada 1992-1993
Alfonso Bustamante y Bustamante 1993-1994
Efraín Goldenberg Schreiber 1994-1995
Dante Córdova Blanco 1995-1996
Alberto Pandolfi Arbulú 1996-1998; 1998-1999
Javier Valle Riestra González Olachea June-August of 1998
Víctor Dionicio Joy Way Rojas January-October of 1999
José Alberto Bustamante Belaúnde 1999-2000
Federico Salas Guevara Schultz July-November of 2000
Javier Pérez de Cuéllar 2000-2001
Roberto Enrique Dañino Zapata 2001-2002
Luis Solari De La Fuente 2002-2003
Martha Beatriz Merino Lucero June-December of 2003
Carlos Ferrero Costa 2003-2005
Pedro Pablo Kuczynski Godard 2005-2006
Jorge del Castillo Gálvez 2006-2008
Yehude Simon Munaro 2008-2009
Javier Velásquez 2009-2010
José Antonio Chang 2010-2011
Rosario Fernández March-July of 2011
Salomón Lerner Ghitis July-December of 2011
Oscar Valdés 2011-2012
Juan Jiménez Mayor 2012-2013
César Villanueva 2013-2014
René Cornejo February-July of 2014
Ana Jara 2014-2015
Pedro Cateriano 2015-2016
Fernando Zavala Lombardi (Incumbent) 2016-Present

More in Politics