1. World Map/
  2. Europe/
  3. Ireland/
  4. Ireland Timeline

Ireland History Timeline

Ireland's Information

Flag of Ireland
Land Area 68,883 km2
Water Area 1,390 km2
Total Area 70,273km2 (#118)
Population 4,952,473 (#121)
Population Density 71.90/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $322.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $69,400
Currency Euro (EUR)
More Information Ireland
Largest Cities
BC - 900 AD
  • (300 BC) Groups of Celts reached Ireland
  • (150) Ptolemy drew map of Ireland
  • (367) Irish Picts and Saxons attacked Roman-controlled Britannia
  • (455) St. Patrick founded church at Armagh
  • (795) Vikings attacked Celtic coastal monasteries
  • (841) Vikings fleets wintered in Dublin
  • (967) Irish and powerful Vikings at war
1000s - 1400s
  • (1014) King Brian Boru defeated Viking army
  • (1142) Cistercian house established at Mellifont
  • (1172) Pope in Rome declared King Henry II of England had lordship over Ireland
  • (1224) Dominican order entered Ireland
  • (1260) Brian O'Neill killed at Battle of Down
  • (1297) First Irish Parliament met in Dublin
  • (1315) Scots attacked Ireland
  • (1348-1351) Black death killed a third of population
  • (1394) England's King Richard tried to regain control
  • (1487) Lambert Simnel crowned Edward VI in Dublin
1500s - 1600s
  • (1504) 8th Earl of Kildare declared master of Ireland after military victory at Knocktoe
  • (1539) Irish monasteries dissolved
  • (1541) Henry VIII of England declared King of Ireland
  • (1585) Ireland mapped and divided into counties
  • (1592) Trinity College of Dublin established
  • (1603) Treaty of Mellifont signed
  • (1649) Catholics rebelled over land rights. Oliver Cromwell, England's "Protestant" Lord Protector, led a punitive expedition into Ireland. The massacre was bloody, brutal and most destructive.
  • (1650) The few remaining Catholic landowners relocated to western Ireland
  • (1688) James II, deposed Catholic King of England, fled to Ireland and gathered an army
  • (1689) Siege of Derry
  • (1690) William of Orange defeated James II at the Battle of Boyne
1700s - 1800s
  • (1713) Jonathan Swift named Dean of St. Patrick's Cathedral
  • (1731) Royal Dublin Society established
  • (1759) Arthur Guiness purchased brewery in Dublin
  • (1798) Wolfe Tones United Irishmen rebellion
  • (1800) By the Act of Union, Ireland became a part of Great Britain
  • (1817) Royal Canal completed
  • (1828) Catholic emancipation act passed
  • (1838) Whiskey production reduced
  • (1845-1849) Great Potato Famine caused great hardship, thousands of deaths, and forced mass-immigration to the United States
  • (1867) Thousands of Irish-Americans returned home to fight for Irish Republican Brotherhood
  • (1879-82) Land War for the reform of tenancy laws
  • (1892) Irish Home Rule bill defeated, again
  • (1904) Dublin's Abbey Theater opened
  • (1912) Titanic, built in Belfast, sunk
  • (1916 Nationalists staged Easter Rising, proclaimed an independent Irish Republic. All of their leaders were executed by the British.
  • (1919) Nationalists, led by Eamonn De Valera, established Dublin assembly. Guerrilla war began between British forces and the Irish Republican Army
  • (1920) British parliament passed the Government of Ireland Act establishing one parliament for the six counties of Northern Ireland, and another for the rest of Ireland.
  • (1921) Anglo-Irish Treaty signed. Northern Ireland partitioned off to remain part of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland
  • (1922) The Dublin parliament accepted the Anglo-Irish Treaty despite Nationalist opposition. Subsequently civil war broke out and hundreds were killed
  • (1923) Irish Free State joined League of Nations
  • (1932) Eamonn De Valera headed the Irish Free State government
  • (1937) Voters approved a new constitution, abolished the Irish Free State, and proclaimed Ireland (Eire) as a sovereign, independent, democratic state, free from British control
  • (1938) Douglas Hyde elected president of Eire
  • (1949) On Easter Monday, Eire became Republic of Ireland, totally independent from Britain
  • (1956) IRA launched terrorism campaign
  • (1957) Republic of Ireland joined United Nations
  • (1959) De Valera elected president
  • (1963) John F. Kennedy was first American President to visit Ireland
  • (1972) Bloody Sunday, as British troops shot and killed 13 demonstrators
  • (1973) The Republic joined European Economic Community, (EU); Northern Ireland violence intensified
  • (1979) Pope John Paul II visited Ireland
  • (1987) IRA bomb exploded during Remembrance day parade
  • (1988) Dublin celebrated its millennium
  • (1990) Mary Robinson elected president
  • (1993) Downing Street Declaration signed
  • (1998) Good Friday Agreement on a political settlement for Northern Ireland approved by voters
  • (2002) Irish punt note replaced by Euro
  • (2002) Bertie Ahern elected prime minister
  • (2004) Ireland held EU presidency
  • (2005) IRA announced an end to armed campaign
  • (2006) Rioting took place in Dublin when protestors attacked 'Love Ulster' parade; Dublin airport evacuated twice in one week over bomb scares
  • (2007) Emergency workers rescued 110 children swept out to sea
  • (2008) Irish voters rejected EU treaty; Prime Minister Bernie Ahern resigned following allegations of receipt of secret payments
  • (2009) Rugby team won first Grand Slam victory in 61 years; Real IRA claimed responsibility for attack at Massareene army base, two soldiers killed; Irish voters approved EU referendum
  • (2010) Ash from eruptions of volcano beneath Eyjafjallajokull glacier in Iceland caused closure of airports; Irish debt crisis rocked financial markets; requested bail-out from EU and IMF
  • (2011) Leaders of Irish Republic's two major parliamentary parties agreed to form new coalition government
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Europe