1. World Map/
  2. Africa/
  3. Guinea/
  4. Guinea Timeline

Guinea History Timeline

Guinea's Information

Flag of Guinea
Land Area 245,717 km2
Water Area 140 km2
Total Area 245,857km2 (#77)
Population 12,093,349 (#75)
Population Density 49.22/km2
Government Type Presidential Republic
GDP (PPP) $16.08 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,300
Currency Franc (GNF)
Largest Cities

See Also


  • (1890s) France colonized the region now known as Guinea, and made it a part of French West Africa

  • (1958) Guinea declared independence from France, Ahmed Sekou Toure is named president
  • (1965) Relations with France are severed after accusations of a plot to oust Toure emerged
  • (1984) Lansana Conte and Diarra Traore seized control in a bloodless coup hours after the death of President Toure
  • (1990) A new constitution is adopted easing the country into a civilian run government
  • (1993) Guinea's first multiparty elections are held with Lansana Conte securing the presidential lead
  • (1996) 30 people are killed during an armed forces mutiny over low pay and poor conditions

  • (2000) Conflicts with rebels along the Liberian and Sierra Leonean borders caused a massive population displacement and claimed more than a thousand lives
  • (2001) A constitutional referendum endorsing Conte's presidential term from five years to seven is boycotted by opposition leaders
  • (2002) An agreement is reached with Sierra Leone and Liberia on measures to heighten security along the borders
  • (2003) President Conte secured a third presidential term
  • (2006) President Conte is flown to Switzerland for medical treatment, opposition parties demand an interim government; general strikes and protests occurred over wages and prices of basic necessities with trade unions and the government reaching an agreement after eight days of unrest
  • (2007) A state of emergency is declared following days of violent protests
  • (2007) Commercially viable uranium is discovered in Guinea
  • (2008) President Conte replaced the current prime minister, Lansana Kouyate, with ally and former minister of mines Ahmed Tidiane; a mutiny over pay is sparked by soldiers
  • (2008) The military seized power after the death of President Conte; Captain Moussa Dadis Camara declared himself president
  • (2009) A mass opposition rally sparked violence at a stadium in Conakry, 157 are killed after soldiers open fire with an additional 1,200 injured
  • (2009) Captain Camara is shot following a dispute about the stadium rampage and is flown to Morocco for medical care
  • (2010) A formal statement is produced promising the return of Guinea to civilian rule within six months
  • (2010) Presidential elections declared Alpha Conde president
  • (2011) President Conde's residence was attacked in an attempted coup
  • (2011) Hundreds of opposition activists are arrested for protesting suspected attempts by Conde to rig upcoming parliamentary elections
  • (2012) Parliamentary elections are delayed
  • (2013) Political violence erupted ahead of elections, demonstrations killed 9 with a further 220 injured
  • (2013) President Conde's party secured 53 out of 114 seats in parliament elections
  • (2014) An Ebola outbreak occurred with the death toll continuing to rise as of late April
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Africa