1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Sierra Leone

Maps of Sierra Leone

Phyiscal Map of Sierra Leone with state boundaries. It shows the physical features of Sierra Leone including relief, rivers, islands, highest point, and major cities. atlantic ocean liberia guinea worldatlas.com worldatlas.com sierra leone large map

The West African country of Sierra Leone occupies an area of 71,740 sq. km. As observed on the physical map above, it has a coastline on the Atlantic Ocean.

Sierra Leone has four distinct physical regions. 

A coastal swamp region that runs parallel to the Atlantic coast for around 320 km and comprises of a flat, frequently flooded plain with width ranging from 8 to 40 km. It is indented with many estuaries and creeks.

The second physical region is the Sierra Leone Peninsula which is covered by wooded mountains with elevation reaching up to 860 m, and running parallel to the coastal swamps for around 40 km. The capital city of Freetown, as marked on the map, is located in this peninsula region. 

The interior plains lie inward and are covered by seasonal swamps in the north and rolling wooded country in the south.

Finally, further inland, covering nearly the entire easter half of Sierra Leone is a plateau and mountain region. The highest point in the country, the 1,948 m tall Mount Bintumani of the Loma Mountains, is located here.

Sierra Leone is drained by several rivers crisscrossing the country. Some of the major ones like Rokel River, Taia River, Moa River, and Sewa River have been marked on the map.

The country also has several islands on the Atlantic Ocean. Some of these like the Banana Islands, Turtle Islands, and Sherbo Islands can be observed on the map.

Provinces of Sierra Leone Map

Political Map of Sierra Leone displaying the four provinces and Western Area with the capital city of Freetown.

Sierra Leone is divided into four provinces and one area. The provinces are Eastern, Northern, North Western, and Southern. The area is called Western Area or Freetown Peninsula. 

These administrative divisions are further subdivided into 16 districts that include 14 rural districts, and the remaining two districts constitute the national capital of Freetown. 

The districts are divided into 186 chiefdoms. These are local government units headed by tribal, hereditary chiefs. 

Where is Sierra Leone?

Map showing location of Sierra Leone in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer Sierra Leone

Sierra Leone is a West African country. It lies in the Northern and Western Hemispheres of the Earth. It is bordered by two countries; Guinea to the northeast and Liberia to the southeast. The South Atlantic Ocean borders it to the southwest.

Sierra Leone Bordering Countries: Guinea, Liberia.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Sierra Leone

Blank Outline Map of Sierra Leone

The blank outline map respresents mainland Sierra Leone. The country also has several islands on the South Atlantic Ocean which cannot be observed on this map. The above map can be downloaded for free, and used for educational purposes like map-pointing activities.

Outline Map of Sierra Leone

The outline map represents mainland Sierra Leone. The country owns several oceanic islands as well. 

Key Facts

Legal Name Republic of Sierra Leone
Capital City Freetown
8 29 N, 13 14 W
Independence 27 April 1961 (from the UK)


Total Area 71,740.00 km2
Land Area 71,620.00 km2
Water Area 120.00 km2
Total Border 1,093.0 km
Coastline 402.0 km
Bordering Countries Guinea 794 km, Liberia 299 km
Climate Tropical; hot, humid; summer rainy season (may to december); winter dry season (december to april)
Coordinates 8 30 N, 11 30 W
Mean Elevation 279 m
Lowest Elevation 0 m
Atlantic Ocean
Highest Elevation 1,948 m
Loma Mansa (Bintimani)


Population 7,813,215
Largest City

Freetown (1,201,900)

Ethnic Groups Temne 35.5%, Mende 33.2%, Limba 6.4%, Kono 4.4%, Fullah 3.4%, Loko 2.9%, Koranko 2.8%, Sherbro 2.6%, Mandingo 2.4%, Creole 1.2% (descendants of freed Jamaican slaves who were settled in the Freetown area in the late-18th century; also known as Krio), other Sierra Leone 4.7%, other foreign 0.3% (includes refugees from Liberia's civil war, and small numbers of Europeans, Lebanese, Pakistanis, and Indians), unspecified 0.2% (2013 est.)
Languages English (official, regular use limited to literate minority), Mende (principal vernacular in the south), Temne (principal vernacular in the north), Krio (English-based Creole, spoken by the descendants of freed Jamaican slaves who were settled in the Freetown area, a lingua franca and a first language for 10% of the population but understood by 95%)
Religions Muslim 78.6%, Christian 20.8%, other 0.3%, unspecified 0.2% (2013 est.)


Currency leones (SLL)
GDP $3.94 Billion
GDP Per Capita $504.46
Exports Iron ore, diamonds, rutile, cocoa, coffee, fish

This page was last updated on November 9, 2020

Latest by WorldAtlas