1. Home
  2. North America
  3. United States
  4. Iowa

Maps of Iowa

Physical Map of Iowa. It shows the physical features of Iowa including its mountain ranges, major rivers and lakes.

Covering an area of 145,743.8 sq. km, the State of Iowa is located in the north-central (Midwest) region of the United States.

During the most recent Ice Age, large parts of central and northern Iowa were covered by glaciers. When those masses of ice retreated (or melted) they left their mark across this land. In north-central Iowa, the large expanse of fertile land known as the Des Moines Lobe was once covered by an extension of the Wisconsin Glacier. It is a very flat area that is punctuated by a scattering of gently rolling hills. This area is famous for being the world’s as well as the entire United States’s most productive corn-producing land. Situated to the south of this area is the Southern Drift Plains (prairie land west - forest in the east), which covers about one-third of Iowa.

As observed on the map, in the far north-eastern part of the state, the elevated deeply-ridged bedrock that fronts the Mississippi River is called the Paleozoic Plateau. In the far western corner of the state, the Loess Hills (or low mountains) stretches along much of the western border with Nebraska, and then gives way to the 250ft high bluffs that rise above the Missouri River. In the northern part of the state, in the rolling hill's landscape of the Northwest Iowa Plains sits Hawkeye Point - the state's highest point, at an elevation of 1,677ft (511m).

Iowa's two most important rivers are the Mississippi and Missouri. The Mississippi River rises in northwestern Minnesota and then flows south draining into the Gulf of Mexico, just below the city of New Orleans. The River also serves as a significant transportation artery and when combined with its major tributaries (the Missouri and Ohio rivers) it becomes the world’s third-largest river system, at (2,339 miles/3,765 km) in length. The Missouri River rises in southern Montana in the Rocky Mountains. It first flows north and then generally southeast across the heart of the United States, ending at the Mississippi River, just to the north of St. Louis, Missouri. Additional rivers of note include the Cedar and Des Moines rivers. Many dozens of small natural and man-made lakes are scattered about the state, located mainly in the north-western part of the Des Moines Lobe.

As marked on the map by an inverted yellow triangle the state’s lowest point is, situated at the junction of the Des Moines and Mississippi Rivers, at an elevation of 480ft.

Counties Map

The State of Iowa is divided into 99 counties. In alphabetical order, these counties are: Adair, Adams, Allamakee, Appanoose, Audubon, Benton, Black Hawk, Boone, Bremer, Buchanan, Buena Vista, Butler, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Cedar, Cerro Gordo, Cherokee, Chickasaw, Clarke, Clay, Clayton, Clinton, Crawford, Dallas, Davis, Decatur, Delaware, Des Moines, Dickinson, Dubuque, Emmet, Fayette, Floyd, Franklin, Fremont, Greene, Grundy, Guthrie, Hamilton, Hancock, Hardin, Harrison, Henry, Howard, Humboldt, Ida, Iowa County, Jackson, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Keokuk, Kossuth, Lee, Linn, Louisa, Lucas, Lyon, Madison, Mahaska, Marion, Marshall, Mills, Mitchell, Monona, Monroe, Montgomery, Muscatine, Obrien, Osceola, Page, Palo Alto, Plymouth, Pocahontas, Polk, Pottawattamie, Poweshiek, Ringgold, Sac, Scott, Shelby, Sioux, Story, Tama, Taylor, Union, Van Buren, Wapello, Warren, Washington, Wayne, Webster, Winnebago, Winneshiek, Woodbury, Worth, and Wright.

With an area of 145,743.8 sq. km, Iowa is the 26th largest and the 30th most populous state in the USA. Located in the south-central part of the state, at the confluence of Des Moines and Raccoon River is, Des Moines – the capital, the largest and the most populous city of Iowa. The city serves as a major communication hub and is also home to numerous insurance and financial services companies.

Where is Iowa?

Map showing location of Iowa in the world.

The State of Iowa is located in the north-central (Midwest) region of the United States. Iowa is bordered by the state of Minnesota in the north; by Wisconsin in the northeast; by Illinois in the east and southeast; by Missouri in the south; by Nebraska in the west and by South Dakota in the northwest. It is also bounded by the Mississippi River in the east and the Missouri River along with its tributary – the Big Sioux River in the west.

Regional Maps: Map of North America

Outline Map of Iowa

The above blank map represents the State of Iowa, located in the north-central (Midwest) region of the United States. The above map can be downloaded, printed and used for geography education purposes like map-pointing and coloring activities. 

The above outline map represents the State of Iowa, located in the north-central (Midwest) region of the United States. It is the only state in the U.S. that has two parallel rivers (Mississippi and Missouri) delineating its borders. 

Key Facts

Legal Name State of Iowa
ISO 3166 Code US-IA
Capital City Des Moines
Largest City

Des Moines (544,267)

This page was last updated on February 25, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas