1. World Map/
  2. Asia/
  3. Armenia/
  4. Where is Armenia

Where is Armenia?

map showing the location of Armenia

Located in the continent of Asia, Armenia covers 28,203 square kilometers of land and 1,540 square kilometers of water, making it the 144th largest nation in the world with a total area of 29,743 square kilometers.

Armenia became an independent state in 1991, after gaining its sovereignty from the Soviet Union. The population of Armenia is 2,970,495 (2012) and the nation has a density of 105 people per square kilometer.

The currency of Armenia is the Armenian Dram (AMD). As well, the people of Armenia are refered to as Armenian.

The dialing code for the country is 374 and the top level internet domain for Armenian sites is .am.

Armenia shares land borders with 4 countries: Turkey, Iran, Azerbaijan, Georgia.

To learn more, visit our detailed Armenia section.

Quick facts

Population 2,970,495
Density 105.3 / km2 ( 272.8 / mi2 )
Language Armenian
Independence Year 1991
Capital Yerevan (Yerevan)
Currency Armenian Dram
GDP 10,881,605,059 (2014 data)
GDP per Capita 3,663 (2014 data)
Land Area 28,203 km2 (10,889 mi2)
Water Area 1,540 km2 (595 mi2)
Neighbouring Countries Georgia, Iran, Azerbaijan, Turkey
Minimum Longitude 43.460
Maximum Longitude 46.630
Mininum Latitude 38.840
Maximum Latitude 41.300

What is the capital of Armenia?

map showing the location of Armenia
Location of Yerevan on a map.

Yerevan is the capital city of Armenia. It has a population of 1,093,485, and is located on a latitue of 40.18 and longitude of 44.51.

Yerevan is also the political center of Armenia, which is considered a Republic, and home to its Executive head of state.

Quick Facts About Yerevan, the Capital Of Armenia

City Yerevan
Country Armenia
Population 1,093,485
Longitude 44.51361000
Latitude 40.18111000
Elevation 994 meters over sea level

Most popular cities in Armenia

Rank City Population

Trending on WorldAtlas

This page was last updated on September 26, 2018.