Is China a Communist Country?

The Great Wall of China at sunset.
  • Four communist countries exist in the world.
  • The current leader of China is Xi Jinping.
  • China follows the Marxism–Leninism philosophy.

China is an East Asian state and the most highly populated nation in the world with over 1.404 billion residents. The country occupies an area of approximately 3,700,000 square miles. It is identified as a nuclear weapons nation that has the second-biggest defense budget on earth. China has the world’s biggest army. China has had the largest economy on earth by PPP (purchasing power prosperity) since 2014 and the second-biggest economy by nominal-GDP since 2010.

Is China A Communist Country?

Yes, China is one of the existing four communist nations in the world. China is governed by a single party (CPC) that is guided by the Marxism–Leninism philosophy. The CPC Communist Party of China took over power in 1949. The Communist Party controls the largest armed forces in the world, and it is committed to communism. The party leader holds the offices of the party’s General-Secretary and the state president. Through these offices, the leader of the CPC is the paramount leader of the country. Xi Jiping is the current paramount leader of the country who was elected in October 2012 by the eighteenth National Congress. As the sole governing party the CPC permits the existence of other eight parties that make up the United Front. The CPC committees exist in all levels of municipalities, autonomous governments, autonomous counties, counties, autonomous prefectures, and municipal districts among others. The committees are appointed by the party congresses which are held every five years. The party is organized on a democratic-centralism basis.

The Communist Party of China (CPC)

The CPC can trace its origin to the May-Fourth Movement when the anarchism and Marxism ideologies had gained traction in China. Other influences that inspired the formation of the CPC include Marxist theory and the Bolshevik revolution. CPC held its first national congress in 1921. The CPC was established in 1921 by Li Dazhao and Chen Duxiu. The party had only 50 members when it was established, but it’s authority and organization grew with time. The communists dominated the Kuomintang (KMT) government until they were expelled from KMT by the Wuhan government on July 15, 1927. The CPC responded by establishing the Red Army to fight the KMT. General Zhu De led the Red Army in the Nanchang uprising.

The Second Sino-Japanese War forced the KMT and CPC to merge and established the Second United Front to battle the Japanese forces. Even though the union existed until 1945, unofficially it ended in 1940, and the CPC used this alliance to expand its territories in preparation for their war with the KMT. The KMT took over their territories with the help of the Japanese and Americans, but their rule was unpopular due to corruption. The CPC attacked Manchuria with the help of the Soviet Union, and they managed to end the KMT rule in mainland China in 1949. Mao Zedong announced the formation of the PRC on October 1, 1949. Deng Xiaoping became the paramount leader in 1976 after Mao died. Deng opened up the country to the world’s markets by introducing the concept of socialism with Chinese characteristics. The change generated economic growth in China.


More in World Facts