1. Home
  2. Asia
  3. North Korea

Maps of North Korea

Physical Map of North Korea showing relief, highest point, major mountain ranges, rivers, important urban centres, etc.

North Korea covers an area of 120,540 sq. km in the northern half of the Korean Peninsula. 

As observed on the physical map of North Korea above, the country is very mountainous. Several mountain ranges and uplands area crisscross the country separated by deep narrow valleys. 

As marked on the map by a yellow upright triangle, the highest peak, Paektu-san on the volcanic Baekdu Mountain, is located on its northern border with China, and rises 9,002 ft. (2,744 m). Important mountains found in the country include the Hamgyong, Rangrim, and Kangnam Ranges.

Along the west coast there are wide coastal plains, while along the Sea of Japan (East Sea) coastline (North Korea's lowest point at 0 m), narrow plains rise into mountains. Similar to South Korea, dozens of small islands dot the western coastline.

North Korea's longest river is the Yulu (Yalu). Other large rivers include the Tumen, Taedang, and Imjin.

The lowest point in North Korea is the Sea of Japan at sea level.

Provinces Map of North Korea

North Korea (officially, Democratic People’s Republic of Korea) is divided into 9 administrative provinces and 3 cities. In alphabetical order, these provinces are: Chagang, Hambuk (North Hamgyong), Hamnam (South Hamgyong), Hwangbuk (North Hwanghae), Hwangnam (South Hwanghae), Kangwon, P’yongbuk (North Pyongan), P’yongnam (South Pyongan) and Ryanggang. The cities are: Namp’o, P’yongyang and Rason. These administrative divisions are further subdivided into a number of smaller subdivisions. 

Located in the west-central part of North Korea along the banks of the Taedong River is P’yongyang – the capital and largest city of North Korea. 

Where is North Korea?

Map showing location of North Korea in the world. arctic ocean pacific ocean indian ocean australia oceania tropic of capricorn tropic of cancer arctic circle equator africa europe black sea caspian aral sea red sea gulf of aden bay of bengal arabian sea middle east mediterranean sea asia

North Korea is a country in Eastern Asia. It is located both in the Northern and Eastern hemispheres of the Earth. North Korea occupies the northern half of the Korean Peninsula bordering the Korea Bay and the Sea of Japan, between China and South Korea. North Korea is bordered by China in the north, by Russia in the northeast, by South Korea in the South. The Military Demarcation Line forms the land border between North and South Korea.  

North Korea Bordering Countries: Russia, South Korea, China.

Regional Maps: Map of Asia

Outline Map of North Korea

The blank outline map above represents North Korea, an East Asian country that occupies the northern part of the Korean Peninsula. The map can be downloaded, printed, and used for education purpose like map-pointing or coloring activities.

The outline map above is of North Korea, a sovereign nation occupying the northern half of the Korean Peninsula.

Key Facts

Legal Name Democratic People's Republic of Korea
Flag of North Korea
Capital City Pyongyang
39 01 N, 125 45 E
Total Area 120,538.00 km2
Land Area 120,408.00 km2
Water Area 130.00 km2
Population 25,666,161
Major Cities
  1. P'yongyang (3,157,538)
  2. Chongjin (652,801)
  3. Hamhung (543,363)
  4. Wonsan (360,448)
  5. Sinuiju (329,331)
Currency North Korean won (KPW) per US dollar (average market rate)

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas