1. World Map/
  2. Oceania/
  3. Papua New Guinea/
  4. Papua New Guinea Geo. Statistics

Geography Statistics of Papua New Guinea

Papua New Guinea's Information

Flag of Papua New Guinea
Land Area 452,860 km2
Water Area 9,980 km2
Total Area 462,840km2 (#54)
Population 6,791,317 (#105)
Population Density 15.00/km2
Government Type Parliamentary Democracy (National Parliament) Under A Constitutional Monarchy; A Commonwealth Realm
GDP (PPP) $28.02 Billion
GDP Per Capita $3,500
Currency Kina (PGK)
Largest Cities
  • Coastline: 3,201 miles (5,152 km)
  • Land Area:
    (land) 174,849 sq miles (452,860 sq km)
    (water) 3,853 sq miles (9,980 sq km)
    (TOTAL) 178,703 sq miles (462,840 sq km)

    To convert sq km (kilometers) to sq mi (miles)
    use our converter
  • Land Area: (all countries)
  • Land Divisions: There are 20 provinces, 1 autonomous region*, and 1 district** in Papua New Guinea. They are Bougainville*, Central, Chimbu, Eastern Highlands, East New Britain, East Sepik, Enga, Gulf, Hela, Jiwaka, Madang, Manus, Milne Bay, Morobe, National Capital**, New Ireland, Northern, Southern Highlands, Western, Western Highlands, West New Britain, and West Sepik
  • Horizontal Width: 202.7 miles (326.21 km) from Mount Hagen east to Lae
  • Vertical Length: 368.91 miles (593.70) from from Wewak south to Danu

    Note: Lengths and widths are point-to-point, straight-line measurements from a Mercator map projection, and will vary some using other map projections
  • Bordering Countries: (1) Indonesia
  • Geographic Center: About 73.42 miles (118.15 km) north of Kerema
  • Highest Point: Mt. Wilhelm 14,793 ft (4,509 m)
  • Lowest Point: Pacific Ocean 0 m
  • Latitude and Longitude
  • Relative Location
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Explore The World