Map of the Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie Region of France Including Caen and Rouen Information Page

normandy region

print this map

Normandie, positioned along the English Channel on the northern coast of France, is made up of two regions, Basse-Normandie and Haute-Normandie.

Basse Normandy includes the departments of Calvados, Manche and Orne, with the city of Caen as its capital. Haute Normandy includes the departments of Eure and Seine-Maritime, with the city of Rouen as its capital.

The region is most famous for its beaches, as some of them were the main focal points during the D-Day landings of World War II in June of 1944. Today, the overall region's economy revolves around agricultural, with cattle and dairy farming the major industries.

Latest by WorldAtlas