1. Home
  2. Africa
  3. Comoros

Maps of Comoros

Physical Map of Comoros showing the four main islands, surrounding water bodies, the topography of the islands, important settlements, and the highest point in the country. indian ocean mozambique channel worldatlas.com worldatlas.com

The physical map above illustrates the country of Comoros which is volcanic in origin. The islands occupy an area of 2,034 sq. km.

As observed on the map, four main islands comprise the archipelago of Comoros. These islands are arranged along a northwest-southeast axis at the Mozambique Channel's northern end.

The Comoros islands evoke a rugged and windswept look. Broad sandy beaches with occasional groups of mangroves or coconut palms characterize the coastline here. 

Grand Comore (Njazidja), the largest island, is an irregular plateau anchored by two volcanoes. The land rises to the island's highest point - the active crater of Mount Kartala, a large, gently sloping volcano in the shape of a flattened dome, built almost exclusively of lava flows. It is 2,361 m tall and has been marked on the map with an upright triangle. The capital of Comoros, Moroni, is also located on this island's west coast.

Anjouan (Nzwani,) the second-largest island is a similar lava plateau with three volcanic mountain chains. As observed on the map, it is triangular. The highest point here is the 1,580 m high Mount Ntingui.

Moheli (Mwali), the smallest of the four main islands, is largely a plateau with an average elevation of 300 m with the island ending in a ridge about 790 m above sea level. Dense forest covers the slopes of the hills on the island. The ancient lava flows eroded over time into a series of valleys, punctuated by small rivers (streams). 

Mayotte, the oldest of the islands, has also dramatically eroded over time and is well-watered by a series of small streams. 

The lowest point in Comoros is the Indian Ocean (0 m).

Islands Map of Comoros

According to CIA World Factbook, Comoros can be divided into adminitrative divisions which are the 3 islands of Anjouan (Ndzuwani), Grande Comore (N'gazidja), Moheli (Moili) as marked on the map above. The national capital of Moroni is located in the Comore (N'gazidja) island.

Where is Comoros?

Map showing location of Comoros in the world. Europe Middle East Africa Comoros Atlantic Ocean Atlantic Ocean Mediterranean Sea Arabian Sea Indian Ocean Tropic of Capricorn Equator Prime Meridian worldatlas.com worldatlas.com Tropic of Cancer

The island country of Comoros is located in the Indian Ocean at the northern end of the Mozambique Channel. Considered to be part of Africa, it is located off the eastern coast of Africa. Comoros has maritime borders with Tanzania and Mozambique in mainland Africa to the northwest and west respectively. It also has maritime borders with the islands nations and territories of Madagascar and Mayotte to the southeast and Seychelles to the northeast. It is located in the Eastern and Southern Hemispheres of the Earth.

Regional Maps: Map of Africa

Outline Map of Comoros

This outline map shows the archipelagic country of Comoros. The four main islands of the country are visible on the above map. These are Grand Comore, Anjouan, Moheli, and Mayotte. These islands lie in the Mozambique Channel that is part of the Indian Ocean.

Blank outline map of Comoros showing the four main islands of the country. Can be used for coloring. Free download and print out for educational, school, or classroom use.

Key Facts

Legal Name Union of the Comoros
Flag of Comoros
Capital City Moroni
11 42 S, 43 14 E
Total Area 2,235.00 km2
Land Area 2,235.00 km2
Water Area N/A
Population 850,886
Currency Comoran francs (KMF)
GDP $1.19 Billion
GDP Per Capita $1,393.52

This page was last updated on February 24, 2021

Latest by WorldAtlas