1. World Map /
  2. Asia/
  3. India/
  4. India Timeline

India History Timeline

India's Information

Flag of India
Land Area 2,973,193 km2
Water Area 314,070 km2
Total Area 3,287,263km2 (#7)
Population 1,266,883,598 (#2)
Population Density 426.10/km2
Government Type Federal Parliamentary Republic
GDP (PPP) $8,720.00 Billion
GDP Per Capita $6,700
Currency Rupee (INR)
Largest Cities
2500BC - 70BC
  • (2500BC) Indus Valley civilization developed around Indus River valley, grew crops on river plains
  • (2000BC) Indus Valley civilization collapsed
  • (1500BC) Aryan people came to the region
  • (700BC) Caste system began, Brahmans took highest class
  • (500BC) Buddhism founded by Siddhartha Gautama
  • (326BC) Alexander the Great crossed the Indus River into India
  • (304BC) Magadha King Chandragupta Maurya, bought Indus valley,established the Maurya Dynasty
  • (300BC) Chola Dynasty established
  • (220BC) Maurya Dynasty expanded
  • (184BC) Maurya Dynasty ended
  • (184BC) Sunga Dynasty began
  • (78BC) Sunga Dynasty ended
50AD - 1600s
  • (50) Trade grew between Roman Empire and India, Romans bought pearls, ivory, silk, spices, precious gems
  • (50) Kushans established empire in northern India
  • (320 - 550) India came under rule of the Gupta Empire, Hinduism became major religion
  • (1498) Vasco da Gama was first European explorer to reach India
  • (1526) Mughal Dynasty was established, unified most of south India with the north
  • (1600s) Holland, Great Britain, France established key trading posts in India
  • (1610) British East India Company was established
  • (1638) Mogul Emperor Shah Jahan began construction of the Taj Mahal in memory of his wife, Mumtaz
  • (1757) In the Battle of Plassey, Robert Clive of the East India Company defeated the Mughal governor of Bengal
  • (1774) Warren Hastings appointed as first Governor-General of India
  • (1775 - 1782) First Anglo-Maratha War was fought between British East India Company and Maratha Empire, the Maratha won, all territories occupied by British were returned
  • (1779 - 1784) Second Anglo-Mysore War was a conflict in Mughal between Kingdom of Mysore and British East India Company
  • (1784) Anglo-Mysore War ended with Treaty of Mangalore, both sides agreed to restore the others' lands
  • (1789 - 1792) Third Anglo-Mysore War was between South India and the British East India Company
  • (1792) Treaty of Seringapatam ended war, Mysore ceded about 50% of its territory
  • (1798 - 1799) Fourth (and final) Anglo-Mysore War was fought between Kingdom of Mysore and British East India Company in South India
  • (1799) British attack on Srirangapattana ended war
  • (1831) Administration of Mysore was taken over by East India Company
  • (1848) Lord Dalhousie became Governor-General of India
  • (1853) Railway, postal service, telegraph lines introduced
  • (1857) Indian Rebellion (Sepoy Mutiny) - the first war of Indian independence
  • (1858) British suppressed rebellion, the Mughal Empire collapsed
  • (1858) India came under direct rule of the British crown
  • (1877) Queen of England proclaimed Empress of India
  • (1885) Burma became Indian province
  • (1885) Indian National Congress formed
  • (1899) Lord Curzon became Governor-General and Viceroy of India
  • (1905) British partitioned Bengal into separate Hindu and Muslim sections
  • (1906) Muslim League formed
  • (1912) Capital was moved from Calcutta to Delhi
  • (1919) Jallianwala Bagh massacre took place in Amritsar at meeting. Brigadier-General Dyer ordered riflemen to shoot at group, more than 1,000 killed
  • (1920 - 1922) Non-Cooperation Movement was led by Mahatma Gandhi to resist British occupation through non-violent means. Protesters refused to buy British goods, used local handicrafts, picketed liquor stores
  • (1922) Police station in Chauri Chaura was set on fire by angry citizens, 23 policemen killed
  • (1928) Sir John Simon sent seven British Parliament members to study constitutional reform, citizens were outraged
This page was last updated on April 7, 2017.

India Trivia

What is the Biggest City in India?

With a population of 18.4 million people, Mumbai is the largest city in India by population.

The 10 Largest Cities in India

What Languages are Spoken in India?

Hindi is the most spoken language in India, and also one of the country's official languages. Around 550 million people in India speak Hindi. After Hindi, English is the most widely spoken language in the country, with around 125 million speakers. Bengali, Telugu, Marathi, Tamil, Urdu, and Kannada are all also spoken.

What Language Is Spoken in India?

What are the Largest Ethnic Groups in India?

The five major ethnic groups of Dravidian people in India are Kannadiga, Malayali, Tulu, Tamil, and Telugu.

Biggest Ethnic Groups In India

What Were the Indo-Pakistan Wars?

India and Pakistan have gone to war against each other four times since their independence from the U.K. and subsequent partition into separate sovereign states.

The Indo-Pakistan Wars

What is the Most Popular Newspaper in India?

The most popular newspaper in India is the Dainik Bhaskar, which has a circulation of around 3.8 million.

The Most Popular Newspapers In India

What is the percentage of people belonging to the Scheduled tribes in India's population?

The Scheduled tribes make about 8.6% of India’s total population.

Who Are The Scheduled Tribes In India?

About the Author

John Moen is a cartographer who along with his wife are the orignal founders of worldatlas.com. He and his wife, Chris Woolwine-Moen, produced thousands of award-winning maps that are used all over the world and content that aids students, teachers, travelers and parents with their geography and map questions. Today, it's one of the most popular educational sites on the web.

Trending on WorldAtlas

Countries of Asia