What is the FYROM?

A sign showing the FYROM operating under its new name. Editorial credit: Alexandros Michailidis / Shutterstock.com.

FYROM is an acronym for the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia. It is the name previously used by North Macedonia after it declared its independence from former Yugoslavia in 1991. 

Description Of North Macedonia, Formerly FYROM 

North Macedonia (FYROM) is a landlocked country bordering Albania to the west, Bulgaria to the east, Kosovo to the northwest, Greece to the south, and Serbia to the northeast. Its physical terrain is characterized by rivers, mountains, and valleys. Skopje is the capital city as well as the largest city in North Macedonia. About a quarter of the country’s total population (2.06 million) lives in Skopje. The capital is governed by ten municipalities known as the “City of Skopje.”  North Macedonia’s official languages are Macedonian and Albanian. Besides being a member of the UN, North Macedonia is also a member of the Council of Europe.

Name Dispute 

Greece and North Macedonia disagreed on the use of the term “Macedonia.” This issue especially dominated political discussions following the push by North Macedonia to join NATO and the European Union in its bid to grow its economy. But, what really lies behind these fights about the name Macedonia? The name "Macedonia" carries with it a question of history, culture, and identity. At the core of the controversy is that the name Macedonia is the same as that used in a neighboring region in northern Greece. Greeks claim that the region has used that name since the era of Alexander the Great

Resolution Of The Controversy

The name dispute saw Athens block several attempts by what was then the FYROM to join the European Union and the NATO. Finally, ratification by both countries took place in January 2019. On January 25, 2019 the Prespa Agreement was signed by the two countries, putting an end to a decades-long debate. As of 2019, the country formerly known as the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia is now officially known as North Macedonia. 


More in World Facts