Which Countries Border Russia?

The border crossing between Russia and Estonia. Editorial credit: Karasev Victor / Shutterstock.com.
The border crossing between Russia and Estonia. Editorial credit: Karasev Victor / Shutterstock.com.

Russia is bordered by more countries than any other country in the world, with a total of 16 countries sharing its long land border. The countries with whom Russia shares its land border include North Korea, China, Norway, Finland, Ukraine, Kazakhstan, Poland, Georgia, Mongolia, Latvia, Estonia, Azerbaijan, Belarus, and Lithuania. An additional two countries whose sovereignty is partially recognized, also share a land border with Russia: Abkhazia and South Ossetia. Russia’s land is about 12,577 miles in length, which is the world’s second-longest and only exceeded in length by China’s land border.

The Three Longest International Borders Of Russia


Kazakhstan is situated south of Russia. The Kazakhstan-Russia international border is the longest land border shared by Russia, with a total length of 4,254 miles. The border is also the second-longest international border in the world, only surpassed in length by the Canada-United States border. The border was first delineated in 1930 and has remained unchanged ever since. However, it was only at the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991 that the border was officially recognized as an international border. The Trans-Siberian Railway crosses the border at border crossings near the town of Petropavl.


The border is Russia’s second longest international border, stretching 2,615 miles in length. The border is made up of two sections: the longer Eastern Section that is about 2,485 miles in length, and the Western Section that is about 60 miles in length. The earliest demarcation of the border was done in the 17th century in the 1689 Treaty of Nerchinsk between the Qing Empire and Russian Empire. Other subsequent treaties were signed between the two empires in the 19th century. The two countries have had numerous territorial disputes concerning the delineation of the border, but have used diplomacy to solve all of them. All the 26 border crossings of the China-Russia border are situated in the Eastern Section of the border. Three of these border crossings are railway crossings. The Western Section encompasses remote regions of both countries, with a low human settlement and therefore has no border crossings. However, the two countries are planning to build a gas pipeline that will cross this section of the border. People apprehended for illegally crossing the border are required to be forwarded to authorities of their home countries within seven days.


Mongolia shares a long land border with Russia, which stretches 2,165 miles in length. The border is the third-longest international border in Russia. The border’s easternmost and westernmost edges are marked by tri-points connecting China, Russia, and Mongolia. The two tri-points were established as a result of an international agreement signed by the three countries in 1994. The border was first established in the 18th century as a result of the 1727 Treaty of Kyakhta between the Qing Empire and the Russian Empire. Mongolia was at the time part of the Qing Empire. After the decline of the Qing Empire in the early 20th century, Mongolia was established as a Russian Protectorate. The border was retained after the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991.

What Countries Border Russia?

RankStateBorder Length With Russia (Km)
15South Ossetia70
16North Korea17

More in Politics