The Marginal Seas Of The Pacific Ocean

The Salish Sea in western North America is one of the marginal seas of the Pacific Ocean.
The Salish Sea in western North America is one of the marginal seas of the Pacific Ocean.

The Pacific Ocean is the body of water located between the North and South America in the east, the Arctic Ocean to the north, Asia and Oceania to the west, and the Southern Ocean to the south. It covers a total surface area of about 165,250,000 square kilometers and has an average depth of 4,280 meters, making it the most extensive and deepest ocean in the world. Due to its extensive size, the Pacific Ocean has many marginal seas at the coasts of the Americas, Asia, and Oceania.

Marginal Seas of the Pacific Ocean

A marginal sea is defined as a division of an ocean that is either enclosed by peninsulas, islands, or archipelagos and is adjacent to an open ocean. Various seas are part of the Pacific Ocean. Below is a description of some of the significant marginal seas of the Pacific Ocean.

Bearing Sea

The Bearing Sea is a marginal sea of the Pacific located in the Americas. The Bearing Sea covers an area of over 2,000,000 square kilometers and is bordered by Alaska to both the east and northeast, the Kamchatka Peninsula to the west, and the Aleutian Islands to the south. The ecosystem of the Bearing Sea is comprised of resources that are managed by the United States and Russia.

Arafura Sea

The Arafura Sea is located to the west of the Pacific Ocean. It is situated explicitly in South Asia, between Australia and Indonesian New Guinea. This sea is generally shallow having a maximum depth of 80 meters.

Salish Sea

The Salish Sea is classified as one of the largest marginal seas of the Americas. This sea is also one of the richest biologically inland seas. The Olympic Peninsula and Vancouver Island separate the waters of the Salish Seas from the open Pacific Ocean.

Gulf of Alaska

The Gulf of Alaska is marginal sea located in the North Pacific Ocean; this sea is composed of the Kodiak Archipelago, Montague Island, and the Alexander Archipelago. The primary river source from this marginal sea is the Susitna River. According to scientists, the Gulf of Alaska is a Class I productive ecosystem having over 300 grams of carbon per square meter in a year.

Bismarck Sea

The Bismarck Sea is located in Oceania, with its coastline cutting through the Island Region, Papua Region, and Momase Region. This sea was named after the first Chancellor of German, Otto Von Bismarck. Recent discoveries have revealed that the Bismarck Sea is rich in minerals such as gold, sulfides, copper, zinc, and silver.

Sea of Chiloe

This marginal sea is located on the coast of Chile. The Island of Chiloe separates the Sea of Chiloe from the Pacific Ocean. The sea is home to the Chiloe Archipelago's islands and various islands found in Reloncavi Sound.

Other marginal seas of Pacific Ocean

The Pacific Ocean is the largest ocean in the world and has various marginal seas. Some of the other marginal seas of Pacific Ocean include the Bohali Sea, Ceram Sea, East China Sea, Java Sea, Philippine Sea, Koro Sea, Sea of Japan, and the Chilean Sea.

The Marginal Seas Of The Pacific Ocean

AmericasAsia and Oceania
Bering SeaArafura Sea
Chilean SeaBali Sea
Sea of ChiloéBanda Sea
Gulf of AlaskaBismarck Sea
Gulf of California / Sea of CortésBohai Sea
Mar de GrauBohol Sea / Mindanao Sea
Salish SeaCamotes Sea
Celebes Sea
Ceram Sea
Coral Sea
East China Sea
Flores Sea
Gulf of Carpentaria
Gulf of Thailand
Halmahera Sea
Java Sea
Koro Sea
Molucca Sea
Philippine Sea
Savu Sea
Sea of Japan
Sea of Okhotsk
Seto Inland Sea
Sibuyan Sea
Solomon Sea
South China Sea
Sulu Sea
Tasman Sea
Visayan Sea
Yellow Sea

More in World Facts