World Facts

The Largest Countries in Europe

Russia is the largest country in Europe, followed by Ukraine, France, Spain, Sweden, Norway, and Germany.

The total surface area of Europe is approximately 3,930,000 square miles and the population as of 2016 was 741,447,158, which was 11% of the world’s population. Europe covers about 2% of the whole surface of Earth and 6.8% of the land area. Europe is made up of 50 countries with Russia being the largest occupying 39% of the total land area in Europe.

The Biggest Countries in Europe by Land Area


Russia or the Russian Federation is not only the largest country in Europe but also the largest in the world. The whole of Russia has a total land area of 6,612,100 square miles with 1,533,752 square miles on the Eastern side which is in Europe. The Western side of Russia is considered to be in Asia, and therefore the country is located in Euro-Asia. As of 2016 Russia had a population of about 144 million people. 77% of the total population lives in the European side. Moscow is the capital city and is the largest city in Russia. The official language spoken in the country is Russian. Russia has a mixed economy with plenty of natural resources including natural gas and oil reserves. Boris Yeltsin in June 1991 became the first president in the history of Russia to be elected directly after the disintegration of the communist Soviet Union. What followed was radical privatization and trade and market liberalization.


Ukraine covers a total land area of 233,062 square miles. Ukraine is found in Eastern Europe and has a dispute with Russia over Crimea area which Russia appropriated in 2014. The country has a population of about 42 million people. The capital is Kiev, and it is also the largest city in the country, the official language in the country is Ukrainian. Ukraine is a significant producer and exporter of wheat and several other grains. The country has the second largest military in Europe after Russia. The name Ukraine was said to mean borderland, but recently that has been disputed, and it is said to mean homeland. Ukraine got independence from the Soviet Union in 1991.


France has a surface area of about 212,894 square miles, making it the largest country in the European Union. The country is located in Western Europe with Paris as its capital. France has five overseas departments namely Guadeloupe in the Caribbean, French Guiana in South America, Martinique in the Caribbean, Mayotte island, and Reunion in Africa. The overseas regions are considered part of France and have equal representation in the country. The official language of France is French. By 2017 France (without the overseas regions) had a population of about 65 million people. Metropolitan France is the name used to differentiate mainland France in Europe from its overseas regions. 75% of electricity production in France is by nuclear power leading to less pollution.

Are Europe and Asia separate continents?

Europe is a continent also referred to as Eurasia because of the lack of a definitive border between the two continents of Europe and Asia. The continent houses some of the world's largest economic giants. In 2017, the United Kingdom decided to pull out of the European Union in an arrangement known as Brexit.

The Largest Countries in Europe

RankCountryArea (km²)
1Russia 3972400
2 Ukraine603,628
3 France551,394
4 Spain498,468
5 Sweden449,964
6 Norway385,178
7 Germany357,168
8 Finland338,145
9 Poland312,685
10 Italy301,318
11 United Kingdom244,820
12 Romania238,392
13 Belarus207,600
14 Kazakhstan*180,000
15 Greece131,940

More in World Facts