Prime Ministers Of Kyrgyzstan Since 1991

Since becoming independent from the former Soviet Union, these Prime Ministers have headed the Government of Kyrgyzstan.

The constitution of Kyrgyzstan defines the country as a Parliamentary republic with a unicameral parliamentary system. The country is divided into seven regions administered by governors. Each region is divided into districts administered by government officials. The parliament and the cabinet have greater powers than the president. The president appoints the prime minister who is the head of government of Kyrgyzstan. The president appoints the prime minister who is referred to as Acting Prime Minister until he or she is confirmed by the Supreme Council. The prime minister has a responsibility of appointing the cabinet and running the affairs of the government.

Prime Ministers Of Kyrgyzstan Since 1991

Nasirdin Isanov (Jan to Nov 1991)

Nasirdin Isanov was the first Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan serving from August 1991 to November 1991 when he died in a road crash. He graduated from Moscow in 1966 and worked for a construction company before joining the Communist Party in 1969. In 1983 Isanov was elected the Minister for Construction before his appointment as the country’s first premier in 1991. His term was prematurely ended in a car crash and was buried in the city of Bishkek.

Tursunbek Chyngyshev (1992-1993)

Tursunbek Chyngyshev was the second fully appointed Prime Minister but the third in Kyrgyzstan succeeding Andrei Iordan who held brief after the death of Nasirdin Isanov. Tursunbek Chyngyshev was appointed on February 10, 1992, and left the office after a motion of no confidence was passed against him by the Kyrgyzstan parliament over the Seabeco gold scandal. Tursunbek Chyngyshev and President Akayev attracted public criticism due to government mismanagement and corruption at the expense of the development of the country. Chyngyshev’s fate was sealed by the government’s insistence on the Seabeco gold transaction which damaged the popularity and credibility of Akayev

Apas Jumagulov (1993-1998)

Apas Jumagulov was Kyrgyzstani Prime Minister from December 1993 to March 1998. He studied at Gubkin Russian State University of Oil and Gas and began his political career in 1973 when he joined the Communist Party. He became the party’s Central Committee Secretary in 1979 and the president of the Council of Ministers in 1986. He was one of the two candidates of the 1990 presidential election, but they were disqualified for not getting the majority votes leading to the election of President Akayev. Apas Jumagulov served as the Ambassador to Germany from 1998 to 2003.

Kubanychbek Jumaliyev (Mar to Dec 1998)

Kubanychbek Jumaliyev was the fourth prime minister of Kyrgyzstan who served from March to December 1998. He has a doctorate in Physical and Technical Science from Ryazan Radiotechnical Institute. Kubanychbek Jumaliyev served as the first Deputy Minister for Education and Science between 1994 and 1995, Deputy Secretary of State, and the Chief of Staff between 1996 and 1998 before his appointment as the country’s prime minister on March 24, 1998. He later served in various government positions including governor of Jalal-Abad, Minister of Transport and Communication, and the first vice Prime Minister.

The Incumbent Prime Minister

Sooronbay Jeenbekov has been Kyrgyzstani Prime Minister since April 2016. He was the Deputy of the Assembly of People’s Representative. Sooronbay Jeenbekov has also served in several ministerial positions including Agriculture, Water Resources, and processing industry. He has also served as the First Deputy Head of the Presidential Administration.

Prime Ministers of the Kyrgyz RepublicTerm(s) in Office
Nasirdin Isanov
January to November of 1991
Tursunbek Chyngyshev
Apas Jumagulov
Kubanychbek Jumaliyev
March to December of 1998
Jumabek Ibraimov
Amangeldy Muraliyev
Kurmanbek Bakiyev
2000-2002; March to August of 2005
Nikolay Tanayev
Felix Kulov
Azim Isabekov
January to March of 2007
Almazbek Atambayev
March to November of 2007; 2010-2011
Igor Chudinov
Daniar Usenov
Omurbek Babanov
Zhantoro Satybaldiyev
Djoomart Otorbaev
Temir Sariyev
Sooronbay Jeenbekov (Incumbent)2016-Present

More in Politics