Presidents Of Ukraine Since 1991

Ukraine's President is the country's head of state. Unlike in most countries, the role encompasses all 3 branches of government, not just the executive.

The President of Ukraine is elected by the country's citizens to serve as their head of state. The terms are 5 years each and presidents are limited to 2 consecutive terms. The current office of the presidency was established in 1991, the year of Ukraine’s independence from the Soviet Union. Since then, 5 people have held the position. Some of the most notable of these presidents are discussed below.

Notable Presidents

Leonid Kravchuk

The first president of the newly independent Ukraine was Leonid Kravchuk. He took the position December of 1991 after having served as the Chairman of the Supreme Soviet of the Ukrainian Soviet Socialist Republic (SSR) while a member of the Communist Party. When the Soviets attempted a coup d’etat in August of 1991, he resigned from the Communist Party and a few days later, the Declaration of Independence was signed, creating the office of the presidency. His previous experience led him to hold the first office and in December of that year, the country held its first official election and he was formally elected. Under his presidency, the economy experienced extremely high levels of inflation and loan repayment to partially public banks defaulted. As a result of this economic crisis, many workers did not receive their salaries for years. Kravchuk is accused of not preventing corruption as public entities were privatized. The Black Sea Shipping Company, one of the biggest shipping fleets in the world, was a casualty of this time as well. The government began selling its ships to private, foreign companies in order to pay off debts, some of them falsified. As the economy failed, the public began to support Leonid Kuchma, Prime Minister at the time. Conflict between the President and the Prime Minister led to the resignation of Kravchuk in July of 1994.

Leonid Kuchma

Leonid Kuchma went on to become the President after the first President resigned and the public held an early election. To present date, Kuchma has been the longest serving President, serving 2 terms between 1994 and 2005. His first term was also marked by corruption and a failing economy. In response to the struggling economy, he reduced government subsidies, privatized publicly owned industry and agriculture, lowered taxes, and reformed banking regulations. It was not until 2000, however, that the economy began to improve. He is credited with improving relations with Russia during his presidency.

Petro Poroshenko

The current President of Ukraine is Petro Poroshenko, who was elected in May of 2014. He took office in June of the same year and since then he has launched a peace plan for Eastern Ukraine, an area of the country that seeks autonomy under a pro-Russian movement. He is also responsible for amending the Constitution by proposing changed administrative divisions to include regions, districts, and communities. This amendment also decentralized government powers and gave local governments the right to create their own spending budgets based on their tax revenues. Poroshenko has expressed that he does not want Ukraine to become a nuclear power and that he wants to remove Ukrainian oligarchs from power. He has also signed a bill into law that calls for cleansing the country of traces of communism. This involves removing communist monuments and renaming streets and places.

Presidential Duties

The President of Ukraine, in contrast to those in other semi-presidential systems of government, does not work under the umbrella of the executive branch. The Prime Minister is the head of the executive branch of government, instead. The President represents the country and its people. One of the principal obligations of the Ukrainian President is to ensure that executive, judicial, and legislative acts do not run counter to Constitutional powers. The President nominates the Prime Minister, signs bills into law (or vetoes them), and may create governmental departments for consultative and advisory purposes.

Presidents Of Ukraine Since 1991

Presidents of UkraineTerm in Office
Leonid Kravchuk
Leonid Kuchma
Viktor Yushchenko
Viktor Yanukovych
Petro Poroshenko (Incumbent)2014-Present

More in Politics