Prime Ministers Of Bangladesh

Sheikh Hasina, incumbent Prime Minister of Bangladesh. Editorial credit: Sk Hasan Ali /
Sheikh Hasina, incumbent Prime Minister of Bangladesh. Editorial credit: Sk Hasan Ali /

The People’s Republic of Bangladesh is one of the South Asian countries, and forms the largest portion of the Eastern-linguistic region of Bengal. The country is surrounded by India, Bhutan, Nepal, and Myanmar. Bangladesh ranks 8th most populous country in the world with an average population of 166 million people. Bengali, the official language spoken in the country, is the 7th world’s most spoken language. Bangladesh is a sovereign country with a multiparty parliamentary democracy. The unitary system of government consists of Executive, Legislature, and judiciary. The executive is headed by the president who also appoints the prime minister with the confidence of parliament’s majority. The Prime Minister is the head of government and exercises the executive powers. He is also the head of Bangladesh Cabinet. The notable Prime Ministers of Bangladesh through history are looked at below.

Tajuddin Ahmad

Tajuddin Ahmad was the first Prime Minister and the head of the provisional government of Bangladesh during the period of the Bangladesh Liberation War in 1971. He was a statesman and freedom fighter who is regarded as the most influence in the birth of Bangladesh. During his leadership of the provisional government, he managed to unite the different Bangladesh forces including the military, political class, and cultural forces. Between the 1960s and early 1970 he was the Secretary General of the Awami League where he played a key role in the election of the League’s majority to parliament in 1970. After the election, he led the negotiations with the then President Yahya Khan for the transfer of power to the National Assembly. He relinquished his position as the prime minister on January 12, 1972. On November 3, 1974, he was killed inside the jail by military officers under the instruction of the then President Khondaker Ahmed.

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman

Sheikh Mujibur Rahman is considered the founding leader of Bangladesh, and a man who served both as the president and the premier. He served as the Prime Minister from January 12, 1972, to January 24, 1974, during which he was referred to as “Bangabandhu” meaning friend of Bengal. Rahman also served as the leader of the Awami League and was accredited as one of the key figures in the liberations movement. During his tenure as a prime minister his government enacted laws in the constitution which proclaimed socialism and secular democracy. His government faced several challenges including unemployment, corruption, famine, and poverty. The government was also accused of human rights violations through the security forces. His imposition of one-party rule and political censorship derailed the development in Bangladesh. He was assassinated on August 15, 1975, by army officers when he was serving as the president.

Muhammad Mansur Ali

Muhammad Mansur Ali was a close confidant of his predecessor, Majibur Rahman, who appointed him to the position of Prime Minister of Bangladesh on January 25, 1975. Mansur was a key figure in the six-point movement that was led by Majibur Rahman. He served as the minister of finance in the government that was formed after the Bangladesh Liberation in 1971. As the prime minister, he helped his political friend and then President, Mujib, the Awami League which was the only legalized political party. He was assassinated together with his family on August 15, 1975.

Evolution of the Job

The post of the Prime Minister has been abolished three times in the history of Bangladesh. These periods were from 1975 to 1978, from 1982 until 1984, and again from 1990 to 1991. The incumbent Prime Minister, Sheikh Hasina, was appointed to the office in 2009. She is the daughter to Sheikh Mujibur Rahman, who was the second Prime Minister of Bangladesh.

Prime Ministers Of Bangladesh

OrderPrime Ministers of Bangladesh (or Equivalent Chief Advisers)Term(s) in Office
1Tajuddin Ahmad
2Sheikh Mujibur Rahman
3Muhammad Mansur Ali

4Mashiur Rahman
5Shah Azizur Rahman

6Ataur Rahman Khan
7Mizanur Rahman Chowdhury
8Moudud Ahmed
9Kazi Zafar Ahmed

10Khaleda Zia
1991-1996; 2001-2006
11Muhammad Habibur Rahman
12Sheikh Hasina
13Latifur Rahman
14Iajuddin Ahmed
15Fazlul Haque
16Fakhruddin Ahmed
17Sheikh Hasina

More in Society