Presidents Of Kyrgyzstan Since 1991

In the post-Soviet era, these presidents have served as the heads of state of Kyrgyzstan.

Kyrgyzstan is a democratic unicameral Republic with the executive branch of the government comprising of the Chancellor and Vice Chair. The parliament is unicameral while the judiciary is made up of a supreme court, the prosecutor, and the local courts. The president of Kyrgyzstan is the head of state and discharges several functions including appointing the prime minister and other government officials, nominates supreme court judge, directs foreign policy, signs law, and announces all election. The president is also the commander-in-chief of the Kyrgyzstani Armed Forces.

Presidents Of Kyrgyzstan Since 1991

Askar Akayev (1991-2005)

Askar Akayev was the president of Kyrgyzstan from October 27, 1990, until being overthrown on March 24, 2005. Akayev was a compromised candidate in the October 1991 elections after two presidential candidates were disqualified for not obtaining the majority vote in the first round of the presidential election. He was appointed the vice president of the Soviet Union by Mikhail Gorbachev, but he refused. He was reelected twice in 1995 and 2000 amidst claims of massive rigging. His leadership was marked by protests and outright rebellion against his leadership, especially after the 2000 election. He promised to resign at the end of his term in 2005 but later changed his mind throwing the country into further protest. On March 24, 2005, the opposition stormed the presidential compound and seized power leading to his resignation on April 11, 2005. He is currently a professor at Moscow State University.

Kurmanbek Bakiyev (2005-2010)

Kurmanbek Bakiyev was the second president of the Kyrgyzstan who served his country from 2005 until the government takeover in April 2010. Following the 2005 events that led to the overthrow of Akayev, Kurmanbek Bakiyev won the presidential election by 89% of the total cast votes. His term in office was characterized by the murder of several prominent politicians, economic crisis, riots, and battle for control of the country’s lucrative business. However, he improved ties with Russia and China which led to the initiation of several projects including electricity generating projects. His government was overturned in April 2010 after a bloody riot. He exiled to Belarus with his family where they currently live.

Roza Otunbayeva (2010-2011)

Roza Otunbayevawas the third president of Kyrgyzstan who served from April 2010 until December 2011. She was sworn in as acting president following the April 2010 revolution which led to the overthrow of President Bakiyev. He was chosen by the opposition leader to head the interim government following the countrywide protest. She led the country to a referendum in 2010 which effectively locked her out from the 2011 presidential race. The referendum changed the country from presidential to a parliamentary republic. Her term ended on December 11, 2011.

The incumbent President

Almazbek Atambayev has been the president of Kyrgyzstan since December 2011. He was the country’s prime minister from December 2010 to December 2011. Atambayev unsuccessfully contested the 2000 presidential election receiving only 6% of the total votes. He led the anti-government protest in 2006 and rejected calls for the dissolution of the Supreme Council by the lawmakers in December 2006. Almazbek Atambayev was appointed acting Prime Minister by President Bakiyev becoming the first prime minister from Central Asia to come from opposition.

Presidents of the Kyrgyz RepublicTerm in Office
Askar Akayev
Kurmanbek Bakiyev
Roza Otunbayeva
Almazbek Atambayev (Incumbent)2011-Present

More in Politics